Warm Brussels Sprout, Bacon and Spinach Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Made this last night and it was a big hit. I baked the bacon and used the fat to cook the Brussels sprouts as suggested. I didn't add the vegetable oil-I felt like the bacon fat was more than enough. I used apple cider vinegar and brown sugar instead of the white. I was skeptical about the caraway seeds but I put them in right at the end and they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Very yummy- we used red wine vinegar instead- the caraway seeds are a MUST HAVE- everyone ate their veggies tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This is a wonderful side dish. One must definitely add the caraway seeds to this dish. And I used balsalmic vinegar, instead of the white white vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I don't see how anything BUT fresh Brussels sprouts could be used in order to get the thin slices this recipe requires. Frozen sprouts, once thawed, would just turn into mush and fall apart upon the first cut -- not so good for a salad. To save a little time and because I was only making a trial-sized portion, I didn't break open a new package of bacon; instead I used some bacon crumbles I had stashed in the freezer. Due to the lacking bacon fat, I just used olive oil and proceeded with the recipe as listed. Once finished, this salad reminded me of those wilted salads served at some steak houses... but with the added flavor of caraway, which I'll just add to taste next time as it is such a prominent flavor. This salad may not convert all those sprouts-haters out there, but for those of us who do love those 'little cabbages', this is certainly a unique offering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I was a little confused about "thin sliced" brussel sprouts. I used frozen, cooked them in the microwave, then cut them in three slices each. I used evoo and balsalmic vinegar. I thought it was a little too much sugar but overall I was pretty impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I made it with sesame seeds, pistachios, potato latkas, and smoked herring. It was pretty darn good. A bit of plain yogurt or sour cream on the side. With Chardonnay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
How different! I usually don't care for caraway seeds, but they gave this salad such an interesting flavor. I was tempted to salt the spinach mixture before adding the bacon, and I am glad that I didn't. I left the sprouts whole rather than slicing them. I probably won't make this often, but I'm really glad that I tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Good recipe -- just added sliced onions, and omitted the caraway seeds....And as I always seem to do, added some grated parmesean cheese just before service
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
Alicia L.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
YUM! Needs a little salt, and I left out the caraway seeds. Very tasty, although I used olive oil instead of veggie oil and basalmic insteat of white wine vinegar. I doubt that it made that much of a difference. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenwood Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States