Warm Brussels Sprout, Bacon and Spinach Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
all the stuff my family loves..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2002
I added onion as the recipe made me think of german potato salad which has onion. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
This was awesome! Next time though, I will omit the caraway seeds, as the smell totally turns me off. But even with them, once I tasted, they were soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIERRAMUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
This was so good!! My sister in law made this and we chowed down. I love fresh and even frozen brussel sprouts. She made this without the caraway seeds but we are gonna make it again and then add them to compare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
This was edible, but I will not make again. I ommitted the caraway seeds. I thought the vinegar was too strong, not sweet enough, and I think I would prefer more of a mayonnaise dressing. My husband liked it. It made my 9 year old gag, but she doesn't like sprouts or vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2003
CARAWAY SEEDS STINK- USE SAGE AND IT'S AWESOME .THAT'S MY STORY AND I'M STICKIN' TO IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
We are not Brussel Sprout eaters, but since I found some really fresh ones in the store, I decided to try this recipe. I did not use all the oil called for -just some of the bacon drippings (okay that's not the healthiest, but tasted good.) I used Splenda instead of sugar and seasoned rice vinegar instead of the white wine vinegar. After reading the reviews, I used only 1/2 teaspoon of the caraway seeds (and that was fine). I would suggest that you clean and slice the sprouts before steaming, otherwise they are soft and not easy to cut. We enjoyed this recipe even though my husband said he did not like sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWAIN_HARTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
Well Barrett, in our house caraway seeds definitely don't stink and they added a great layer of flavor to this already fantastic dish. Our two favorite vegies and the bacon dressing created a wonderful side. Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
This was an okay recipe, but I did make a few changes (for the better I think - hence only 3 stars) ... I sliced the sprouts and steamed them in the microwave for 3 minutes ~ then saute'd them in the bacon fat. Removed them from the pan and then to the pan added about 1/2 cup vinegar, 1/4 cup olive oil and 1 1/2 tablespoons of sugar (more of a sweet and sour thing) .. heated that up, added the sprouts back in and mixed them - then dumped the spinach in and tossed to coat. Most of the spinach leaves were still on the "raw" side and those were good - the ones that were wilted I didn't care for at all. (I didn't add the caraway seed because I realized I didn't have any - though I don't think it would have made a difference) Thanks anyway, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
i made these for xmas dinner and i do have a fussy lot in my house. they were all crazy about those brussell sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States