Warm Blueberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Garren
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Very simple, very easy and has just enough sweetness. The only
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Tried this last night for the first time. Followed the recipe - well almost. The orange juice and cinnamon were perfect compliments to the frozen blueberries in the sauce. I did not have almond extract so used vanilla as suggested by others. I don't have a comparison but it worked great. For those sensible, healthy focused, and well mannered folk please stop reading at this point. But for the others I paired this with the Glazed Lemon Supreme Pound Cake recipe found on this site. It was terrific! Worked great together. I even went so far as to add some cinnamon spiced homemade whip cream. All family members that were served really enjoyed the combination. They promised to feel guilty about it and wanted to know when I would be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
The orange juice was a little much and strange tasting with the blueberries. I use the 3 tablespoons of cornstarch, the sauce was pudding like I thinned it out with water like suggested, I think you need about 1-1/2 tablespoon cornstarch, I think that next time I will use apple juice or a white grape juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StickySue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Easy and fast to make. If you're a college student like me, I did not have all of the required ingredients. I substituted lemonade for the orange juice and vanilla extract in place of the almond extract. There was a bit too sweet; I would cut down to 2/3, most likely 1/2 cup of sugar. This turned out very well. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
This sauce was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
WOW so good and soooo easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Harrell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Excellent on top of pancakes and waffles and it's a perfect substitute for blueberry syrup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
This is a yummy basic sauce, and easily adaptable for other kinds of fruit. I've made strawberry and peach versions as well as the blueberry. I don't like Splenda, so I just used about 1/2 c. of plain old sugar. I also swapped vanilla extract for the almond extract, as I find the almond extract flavor a little too strong for my tastes. I originally used this sauce to spoon over slices of a lemon yogurt cake, but it's also fabulous with pancakes and ice cream. My husband even added some to a smoothie and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thislittlepiggy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I didn't need the extra water, I just wisked the cornstarch into the orange juice and the almond extract. I only used a tablespoon and a half of the cornstarch because I read through the reviews and one commented that it was a little too thick. This turned out really well, it was great over homemade whole wheat pancakes. Though I liked the almond extract, I think I'd like vanilla extract better. I'll use that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Absolutely Spectacular! I was looking for an alternative to store bought Blueberry Syrup which contains HFCS as the first ingredient and this was perfect! Family loved it over homemade whole wheat waffles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sauce

See how to make a delicious blueberry sauce for breakfast and dessert.

Rack of Lamb with Blueberry Sauce

Roasted lamb served with an easy blueberry, red wine, and butter pan sauce.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States