Warm Black Bean Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
Delish! As I disdain the flavor, texture and appearance of sun-dried tomatoes, I substituted a half can of diced tomatoes with garlic and onion (drained). I also was a bit surprised that this was more of a relish than a smooth dip, so I stirred the mixture until the beans were a bit more broken down. One last note: Adding a packet of Goya cilantro and tomato seasoning makes everything Latin taste that much better. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wylie, Texas, USA
Living In: Potomac Falls, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I am sitting here with a tummy full of this dip and chips. I live alone and made it for my supper. Black beans are healthy and delicious. I substituted sundried red peppers for the tomatoes, because I did not have tomatoes. It was quick, healthy and absolutely satisfying. I am taking some to work tomorrow because I love it so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Eureka Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Really good! The only thing I would change next time would be to not drain the whole can of beans. It's a bit dry, even with the cheese & olive oil. I also love spicy things, so I added cayenne pepper and 1/2 tsp hot sauce. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Libby25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
While this tasted very good, it is not a smooth dip. I mashed the black beans as I made it. I reheated it after it had cooled and it got too dry! Inexperience on my part I am sure. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
This is so good as both a dip and quesadilla filling the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Browns Mills, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I made this for a girls get together tonight and really enjoyed it. I substituted the sundried tomatoes for half a can of rotel tomatoes and green chiles, and I also sauteed some chopped onion with the garlic. I didn't have any cheese so I left it off, but it was quite good without it. This is a nice, healthy dip recipe to keep on hand. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by astacy12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Very good! I added a little cilantro and little jalapeno. My guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Besada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Excellent! I used a can of diced tomatoes with green chiles instead of stewed tomatoes. Quick, easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
I made this last night and it is addicting! The only thing I did differently was double the garlic and added a little bit more cheese which I mixed into the corn and black beas. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I just made this and I cannot believe how delicious it is... I was a little skeptical of the simple ingredients involved, but the sun-dried tomatoes really make the whole thing unbelievable. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States