Warm Black Bean Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
Delish! As I disdain the flavor, texture and appearance of sun-dried tomatoes, I substituted a half can of diced tomatoes with garlic and onion (drained). I also was a bit surprised that this was more of a relish than a smooth dip, so I stirred the mixture until the beans were a bit more broken down. One last note: Adding a packet of Goya cilantro and tomato seasoning makes everything Latin taste that much better. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wylie, Texas, USA
Living In: Potomac Falls, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I am sitting here with a tummy full of this dip and chips. I live alone and made it for my supper. Black beans are healthy and delicious. I substituted sundried red peppers for the tomatoes, because I did not have tomatoes. It was quick, healthy and absolutely satisfying. I am taking some to work tomorrow because I love it so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Eureka Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Really good! The only thing I would change next time would be to not drain the whole can of beans. It's a bit dry, even with the cheese & olive oil. I also love spicy things, so I added cayenne pepper and 1/2 tsp hot sauce. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Libby25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
While this tasted very good, it is not a smooth dip. I mashed the black beans as I made it. I reheated it after it had cooled and it got too dry! Inexperience on my part I am sure. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
This is so good as both a dip and quesadilla filling the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Browns Mills, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I made this for a girls get together tonight and really enjoyed it. I substituted the sundried tomatoes for half a can of rotel tomatoes and green chiles, and I also sauteed some chopped onion with the garlic. I didn't have any cheese so I left it off, but it was quite good without it. This is a nice, healthy dip recipe to keep on hand. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by astacy12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Very good! I added a little cilantro and little jalapeno. My guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aefrb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Excellent! I used a can of diced tomatoes with green chiles instead of stewed tomatoes. Quick, easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
I made this last night and it is addicting! The only thing I did differently was double the garlic and added a little bit more cheese which I mixed into the corn and black beas. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I just made this and I cannot believe how delicious it is... I was a little skeptical of the simple ingredients involved, but the sun-dried tomatoes really make the whole thing unbelievable. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States