Warm Belgian Endive and Pine Nut Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
Who ever knew that something this simple could be so delicious? I realized at the last minute that I was out of red wine vinegar...I substituted regular white vinegar with a dash of pinot noir (no problem). I also decided to spruce it up a little bit at the end by adding a few fresh bacon bits. Will definitely try this salad again...maybe with warm bacon vinaigrette the next time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INTELLIBLONDE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Made this last night for dinner. I tried the dressing before adding it to the pan and found it bitter (could be because I eye-balled the lemon juice) so I just added a dash of sugar. First time I've eaten endive and I will make it again! UPDATE: I had to change my four stars to five stars because my mom and I were craving this recipe so I made it again and this time measured everything exact and didn't add the sugar and everyone at home loved this recipe! Thank you for a delicious healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I was given some endive, and I had no idea what to do with it. First I just chopped some up in a salad, but I didn't like it that much. This warm version was much better! The dressing is also very tasty, but the dish is a bit rich overall, so it's good to eat in small portions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This recipe is so simple, yet delicious! I added sauteed cooking pears and used a mixture of wholegrain and english mustard. It was mind blowingly delicious! Thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Berkshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Haarlem, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
What am I missing? The endive was bitter. Should I be using a particular kind of endive? Think I will try again with a great dressing I use of equal parts honey, lemon juice and olive oil. This dressing is magic over pork tenderloin, vegetables and all kinds of things. Maybe it will reduce the endive bitterness. Also rings didn't work. Everything fell apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
My issue with this is not so much the pine nut and endive pairing - it's a nice idea to complement the bitterness and austerity of endive with the full richness of pine nuts. The issue is the dressing, which is too sour and only highlights the bitterness in the endive. Dressing needs to be sweetened with maybe honey or maple syrup. Or alternatively, make the dressing a little creamier with a touch of yogurt. The dressing just needs to be rounded out somehow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Very good when eaten immediately after cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I grew up eating belgian endive. The dijon made it more bitter/tart and the nuts as well. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Marcus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Yum! I have never made anything with endives before but they looked so cute in the store. :) Reading the reviews where people added honey I thought I'd like to sweeten the dressing up too, but had no honey. So I added brown sugar to taste and LOVED this change. The leaves are so pretty I didn't want to cut up into rings, so I peeled off leaves until wouldn't peel, then would slice a couple rings, then peel again, all the way to top. I liked the presentation... some rings, some leaves, it was interesting. I sort of stir fried it in the sauce, and when it lost the super crunchy texture it also lost the bitterness. Still a firm, nice texture and very tasty, will make again to impress guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
We loved this! Such a great combination of flavors and not bitter at all. The texture was just wonderful (that's what I love about endive). I didn't toast the pine nuts, because I prefer the flavor of them raw; I just tossed them in at the end. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Chef John's Salad Lyonnaise

This meal-worthy salad features bacon and poached egg with a simple vinaigrette.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States