Warm Belgian Endive and Pine Nut Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
very good & very simple. i had a friend from france over for part of the holiday break & honored him with a french inspired theme to our menu. he truly enjoyed it and thank me for this dish. he grew up eating endive & had not had it for awhile. although he had never had it any way but raw. after thinking about this, i thought it would be nice to make this same recipe again in the future without cooking the endive, which gets soggy & runny very quickly anyhow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trollmother

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
As written, 4 stars. try adding proscuitto- definite 5 stars that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
This salad was different and my family enjoyed it. I had a hard time finding belgian endive. Very different flavors, but tasted really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
This was definitely different, which I usually like, but I would not make these again. My fiancee didn´t finish the leftovers, he never leaves leftovers in the fridge for more than a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
I did not care for this one at all. An expensive mistake considering the price of endive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
This is SO good! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Yummy! I made this for a dinner party last night for the first time and was a little worried because of the reputation of the endive to have such a bitter taste. However, it was a hit! You do have to like the cabbage-type flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
We loved this! Such a great combination of flavors and not bitter at all. The texture was just wonderful (that's what I love about endive). I didn't toast the pine nuts, because I prefer the flavor of them raw; I just tossed them in at the end. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
What am I missing? The endive was bitter. Should I be using a particular kind of endive? Think I will try again with a great dressing I use of equal parts honey, lemon juice and olive oil. This dressing is magic over pork tenderloin, vegetables and all kinds of things. Maybe it will reduce the endive bitterness. Also rings didn't work. Everything fell apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
I cannot cook a new recipe and talk on the phone at the same time because I ALWAYS screw up. I suppose this qualifies me as a non-multi-tasker. This dish called for pine nuts which I planned on subbing (allergy reasons) with sunflower seeds. However, I also made an orzo side tonight and while cooking, my phone rang and dopey me, put the sunflower seeds into that dish instead. Realizing my mistake, I quickly cooked up some bacon in the microwave and sprinkled it over the salad. Believe it or not, I really do have a point to my review which is, how much we all loved this simple, yet wonderful recipe. This was my first attempt using endive (always heard it was bitter-not so cooked like this) and I'm thrilled I did because my family absolutely loved it in spite of the deletion/addition factors. The bacon added a nice touch, so next time, I'll be using both ingredients. Thanks so much "A c r h"!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salad Lyonnaise

This meal-worthy salad features bacon and poached egg with a simple vinaigrette.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States