Warm Belgian Endive and Pine Nut Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
First time preparing endive, though I've always enjoyed them dining out. I found this recipe to be a good base in need of a few more garnishings to suit my tastes. As is, the recipe is basic and versatile enough to work with any number of types of cheeses, nuts and fruit...I completely separated the leaves, washed and stacked them, then sliced that way...Carmelized some chopped red onions, sauteed the pinenuts, added the endive. In my dinner bowl I placed a scoop of freshly made brown rice, served the endive salad on top of that and added cut segments of blood orange, a very light sprinkling of gorgonzola cheese, and drizzled the dressing on top. It was absolutely wonderful!...For my one serving of dressing, I still used the same amount of mustard and vinegar (balsamic) and squeezed in a whole half of lemon. Drizzle of olive oil, salt and pepper to taste. Also, I didn't find the endive to be bitter at all, even ate some raw before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dsrodriguez
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I cut 1/2" rings and used whole almonds instead of pine nuts because I didn't have pine nuts on hand. Also used a combination of red and green endives. It was unexpectedly delicious! I thought the whole almonds would overwhelm the endives, but because I made thick slices, they worked beautifully together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
If the cost of pinenuts and endives were a little lower, we would have this salad at least once a week. Love Love LOVE this salad. So quick and easy and yet its complex enough to have when hosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colin Johnson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
the sauce was good, but like others, the endive was too bitter for us. It was cooked long enough to soften it, but still was very strong taste. Don't know if I will try endive again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I made this as a side dish to some pork tenderloin the other night and the end result was just ok. We found the dressing to be tangier than we would normally enjoy, but the endive and pine nuts were a really nice combination. I will follow the advice of another reviewer and perhaps use a warm bacon vinaigrette next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
My issue with this is not so much the pine nut and endive pairing - it's a nice idea to complement the bitterness and austerity of endive with the full richness of pine nuts. The issue is the dressing, which is too sour and only highlights the bitterness in the endive. Dressing needs to be sweetened with maybe honey or maple syrup. Or alternatively, make the dressing a little creamier with a touch of yogurt. The dressing just needs to be rounded out somehow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Very good when eaten immediately after cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This recipe is so simple, yet delicious! I added sauteed cooking pears and used a mixture of wholegrain and english mustard. It was mind blowingly delicious! Thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Berkshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Haarlem, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This recipes was nice and easy to make. The dressing was lovely and the pine nuts are a good addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This was a FABULOUS salad! I have been looking for ways to cook endive, and this salad is prefect. My son has a severe nut allergy, so I substituted sunflower seeds for the pine nuts, and it was amazing! I would serve this salad for company. Oh - I also added a tsp of maple syrup just to add an extra depth of flavor,and I'd definitely do it that way again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Chef John's Salad Lyonnaise

This meal-worthy salad features bacon and poached egg with a simple vinaigrette.

Chef John's Warm Calamari Salad

Enjoy a flavorful, healthy lunch with Chef John's Warm Calamari Salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States