Warm Belgian Endive and Pine Nut Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
Who ever knew that something this simple could be so delicious? I realized at the last minute that I was out of red wine vinegar...I substituted regular white vinegar with a dash of pinot noir (no problem). I also decided to spruce it up a little bit at the end by adding a few fresh bacon bits. Will definitely try this salad again...maybe with warm bacon vinaigrette the next time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INTELLIBLONDE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
We loved this! Such a great combination of flavors and not bitter at all. The texture was just wonderful (that's what I love about endive). I didn't toast the pine nuts, because I prefer the flavor of them raw; I just tossed them in at the end. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
I cannot cook a new recipe and talk on the phone at the same time because I ALWAYS screw up. I suppose this qualifies me as a non-multi-tasker. This dish called for pine nuts which I planned on subbing (allergy reasons) with sunflower seeds. However, I also made an orzo side tonight and while cooking, my phone rang and dopey me, put the sunflower seeds into that dish instead. Realizing my mistake, I quickly cooked up some bacon in the microwave and sprinkled it over the salad. Believe it or not, I really do have a point to my review which is, how much we all loved this simple, yet wonderful recipe. This was my first attempt using endive (always heard it was bitter-not so cooked like this) and I'm thrilled I did because my family absolutely loved it in spite of the deletion/addition factors. The bacon added a nice touch, so next time, I'll be using both ingredients. Thanks so much "A c r h"!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
Bought Belgian Endive for the 1st time & tried this recipe. It was delicious & so easy to prepare. I used toasted almonds as that's what I had on hand...will definetely make it for the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
Had this salad last night at my dinner party and what a hit! Everyone loved it....a great way to start a lambchop dinner! Try it...you will LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Yummy! I made this for a dinner party last night for the first time and was a little worried because of the reputation of the endive to have such a bitter taste. However, it was a hit! You do have to like the cabbage-type flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
This is SO good! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Made this last night for dinner. I tried the dressing before adding it to the pan and found it bitter (could be because I eye-balled the lemon juice) so I just added a dash of sugar. First time I've eaten endive and I will make it again! UPDATE: I had to change my four stars to five stars because my mom and I were craving this recipe so I made it again and this time measured everything exact and didn't add the sugar and everyone at home loved this recipe! Thank you for a delicious healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Tasty! Different & fine dining like. Easy and elegant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Fantastic!!! I did not change a thing! I made this as a side dish for a pork tenderloin. The guests, 1 being finicky and the other being a very talented cook raved about it. It was one of those dishes that will have no left overs and you will wish there had been! :) Thank you for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Chef John's Salad Lyonnaise

This meal-worthy salad features bacon and poached egg with a simple vinaigrette.

Chef John's Warm Calamari Salad

Enjoy a flavorful, healthy lunch with Chef John's Warm Calamari Salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States