Warm Apple Pocket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by staceykb72
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I didn't have any apple pie spice so I just just a tsp of cinnamon and about 1/8 tsp of nutmeg. I also sprinkled granulated sugar on the outside after brushing with the egg. I always do this with apple pie and lunch the little extra it gives. This was very easy to make and quite tasty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
pretty yummy--but I used some leftover apple pie filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaeleM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elberfeld, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lyons, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
They were the best apple pockets I've ever tasted. I wanted to make a double batch! I also used pilsbury pie crust and granny smith apples, so I added a little more sugar and My family and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Excellent!!! I made this last years x-mas and it will be the desert for this years x-mas again! Everybody loved it...I would not change anything about it! I just took a little less sugar because we dont like it to sweet :) This is a MUST to try! Thank you so much for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I agree with the other users about the sugar. Not enough sugar, Next time I would add more sugar. I ended up sprinkling brown sugar on the top of it while it was still warm so it melted and tasted a little bit sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I made my crust from scratch and added a bit of sugar and cinnamon to to it and omitted the salt and only used cinnamon in the apple pie filling as I do not have apple pie spice. I also made a glaze for the top and added it after the pockets had cooled for a bit. so yummy! My oldest step-son who does not care for apple pie was begging me to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
A cousin to the fried pie from the South, we like this better since there's less oil involved. These pies store better than the fried version, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
This was a pretty good recipe. I didn't have any apple pie spice on hand so I just mixed a little brown sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg in. Used my own crust and added a little water to the egg. I also topped with cinnamon and sugar. It's a cute idea and packed well for my husband to take to work. Could use a little lemon juice with the apple mixture. I may stick with apple pie filling recipe I usually use. Oh, I also used rice milk in place of reg milk, as my son and I can't have dairy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewlster1259

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
These were good but the cooking time was too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
My son loved this recipe. He said it was perfect. The only thing I changed was instead of brushing egg on the top I brushed it with water and sprinkled cinamon sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States