Warm Apple Pocket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by staceykb72
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I didn't have any apple pie spice so I just just a tsp of cinnamon and about 1/8 tsp of nutmeg. I also sprinkled granulated sugar on the outside after brushing with the egg. I always do this with apple pie and lunch the little extra it gives. This was very easy to make and quite tasty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
pretty yummy--but I used some leftover apple pie filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaeleM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elberfeld, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lyons, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
They were the best apple pockets I've ever tasted. I wanted to make a double batch! I also used pilsbury pie crust and granny smith apples, so I added a little more sugar and My family and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Excellent!!! I made this last years x-mas and it will be the desert for this years x-mas again! Everybody loved it...I would not change anything about it! I just took a little less sugar because we dont like it to sweet :) This is a MUST to try! Thank you so much for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I agree with the other users about the sugar. Not enough sugar, Next time I would add more sugar. I ended up sprinkling brown sugar on the top of it while it was still warm so it melted and tasted a little bit sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I made my crust from scratch and added a bit of sugar and cinnamon to to it and omitted the salt and only used cinnamon in the apple pie filling as I do not have apple pie spice. I also made a glaze for the top and added it after the pockets had cooled for a bit. so yummy! My oldest step-son who does not care for apple pie was begging me to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
A cousin to the fried pie from the South, we like this better since there's less oil involved. These pies store better than the fried version, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
This was a pretty good recipe. I didn't have any apple pie spice on hand so I just mixed a little brown sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg in. Used my own crust and added a little water to the egg. I also topped with cinnamon and sugar. It's a cute idea and packed well for my husband to take to work. Could use a little lemon juice with the apple mixture. I may stick with apple pie filling recipe I usually use. Oh, I also used rice milk in place of reg milk, as my son and I can't have dairy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewlster1259

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
These were good but the cooking time was too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
My son loved this recipe. He said it was perfect. The only thing I changed was instead of brushing egg on the top I brushed it with water and sprinkled cinamon sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States