Warm Apple Cinnamon Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Victoria Ford Everett
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
What I changed: I cooked the apples for far longer than the recipe called for because my family prefers less crunchy apples in their cobbler. I added more buttermilk and oil to the topping mix to make it more creamy and easier to spread over the cobbler. These extra additions keep the topping from looking undercooked and lumpy. Made this awesome dish for my neighbor who lost her husband, and then for my mother-in-law and father-in-law. They all loved it! Biggest compliment was that they couldn't tell I had made them something sugar-free and more healthy. I will def. be making this again for my family get togethers and as presents for diabetic friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Not very sweet. The apples tasted like apples, and the dough like dough. Ended up sprinkling sugar and cinnamon on top. Next time I will put honey in with the apples, and sprinkle the dough with sugar and cinnamon before putting it on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
we all loved it a lot of caleries like my mother is diabetic and that was the max she could have in a day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
i change the servings and it was not as sweet as i wanted but it was really good anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Not so hot. Would NOT make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Very good! Didn't have fructose, used sugar instead. I also added ground allspice and clove. Sprinkled a dash of brown sugar and spices on top of biscuit batter just before baking. Next time I will try tapioca instead of cornstarch as a thickener. Cornstarch has a slimy kind of texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
My husband loved this when I made it for him. I didn't buy the pastry flour, so I just used regular whole wheat flour and did minimal mixing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duranie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
This is a low-fat cake and I like it. It doesn't take much time to make. As I am a diabetic I lowered the amount of sugar. Also you should lower the oven to 150 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I'm giving it 2 stars because my husband ate it... I didn't like it at all--maybe I did something wrong... I divided the flour into 1/2 ww and 1/2 white, thinking the topping would be lighter. It was too tough, crumbly and tasteless to me...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
very nice but a bit sweet but still 5 star
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States