Warm Apple Buttermilk Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
Good flavor but WAY too sweet, even though I cut back on the sugar after reading the reviews. I used 1 cup of sugar in the custard, and scant measurements of the other sugars. Also, the butter is not needed with cooking the apples. I only used 1 Tablespoon and it was fine, and the next time I make this i will either use 1/2 tablespoon or maybe none at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
I made a few tweaks and the pie turned out very well. I softened the granny smiths in half the sugar and no butter. I used only one cup sugar in the custard and omitted the topping. mmmm, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARL20

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BostonLiz
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
Saturday night I won an apple pie baking contest at Pumplefest 2006 with this pie!! It is soooo yummy! I have another one in the oven right now because I didn't really get to have any! The only things I changed were adding a little extra apples (beware the custard will make it overflow if you add more than the rec. 2 apples) and I split all the cinn with some nutmeg, too. :) It was a clear crowd favorite and so easy to make! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
I am famous within my large family for my pies and have made hundreds of different varities. When I made this for the family all proclaimed that THIS was the best pie I had ever made. Truly a keeper!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
SwEEt!!! This recipe calls for way too much sugar!!! For the apples I used only 1/8 cup of butter and 2 tablespoons of sugar. I figured that apples are already sweet on its own. And I only made half of the buttermilk custard with just 1/2 cup of sugar. It was the perfect amount to fill an 8" pie. In addition, I strained the custard to get a smoother texture.....and the pie turned out nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
This pie is delicious and very different. Just what I was looking for. The recipe makes enough of the buttermilk custard for 2 pies. Next time I will double the apples and make 2 pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BebbieDuck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
I made this pie for Thanksgiving and everyone thought it was delicious. It was very sweet, but very good. My only concern was that it did not slice like a pie. I expected a firm custard. We sp-ooned it out instead. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Zebulon, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This is a wonderful pie, very good. I will change it some next time I make it. Way too much butter in the recipie, a little greasy with not enough apple. but we still love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Saben

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Danville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2002
My family loved this pie! It was different and I will definitely make this again. I used 3 apples instead of 2 because they were small and luckily had room for all of the filling and topping. I did bake it 5 minutes longer than in the directions and it still was not completely set in the center when it finally came out but it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2001
Delicious! I used three apples because two just didn't look like enough. This kept me from being able to use all the custard, but I was able to use most of it. And the streusel topping was a little more than needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States