Warm Apple Buttermilk Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2001
Delicious! I used three apples because two just didn't look like enough. This kept me from being able to use all the custard, but I was able to use most of it. And the streusel topping was a little more than needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2002
MMMMMMMMMMMMMMM...this is THE BEST apple pie ever, it was easy to do and came out beutifully. The crust was slightly under done, I think you should use a pre-baked one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2002
My family loved this pie! It was different and I will definitely make this again. I used 3 apples instead of 2 because they were small and luckily had room for all of the filling and topping. I did bake it 5 minutes longer than in the directions and it still was not completely set in the center when it finally came out but it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
Being a lover of apple AND custard pies I was anxious to give this recipe a try, however, I was disappointed in the final product. It was far too sweet, and the custard had a strange texture. Perhaps from the 2 Tbsp flour (which I thought was strange to add to a custard filling), or from the streusel topping? It wasn't a BAD pie, but it didn't live up to my high expectations I guess. Sorry, but I won't be making this pie again. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
Yummy ! Boyfried said it was the best apple pie he had ever had. Coming from my picky eater that is pretty good. I did cut down on the sugar though. I just used the whole cup portions of the sugar. The first time it was a bit sweet, the second time was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
We loved this pie. My wife never eats sweets till I make this pie. I once used Coco powder in place of the flour and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
this was overall very good. i had a lot of custard leftover after pouring it over the apples, so i would maybe cut that part in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2003
This is the VERY BEST apple pie I have every made. Not only my husband like it everyone at work was salivating for more. This recipe is PERFECT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2003
This is an excellent apple pie recipe, I was a bit nervous about the mixture of apples and custard but it's absolutely delicious! I did cut down the sugar to one cup in the custard though after reading the reviews suggesting that it was to sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
Good flavor but WAY too sweet, even though I cut back on the sugar after reading the reviews. I used 1 cup of sugar in the custard, and scant measurements of the other sugars. Also, the butter is not needed with cooking the apples. I only used 1 Tablespoon and it was fine, and the next time I make this i will either use 1/2 tablespoon or maybe none at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States