Warm Apple Buttermilk Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
I thought this was a really good apple pie, and I usually don't like apple pie. My husband thought it was good too. I used three apples (fist sized) and only used about 3/4 of the topping as it seemed plenty thick (and it was). I used the directed amount of sugar and thought it was fine. It was sweet, but no sweeter than pie should be, it is pie after all! I added the apples with the sugar/cinnamon cooking liquid to the bottom of the pie plate. It only filled the plate about 1/3 of the way. Which appeared to be too little. The custard filled the rest of the plate to the top. I initially thought there wouldn't be enough apple in the pie, but I thought it was a very nice balance between fruit and custard. I did under cook mine a bit, but it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
I found this recipe in Southern Living magazine at least 6 or 7 years ago and it has been on my Thanksgiving dessert table ever since. The custard filling is good to use in apple crisp too, in the apples under the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
Oh my gosh, this pie is devine!! It will easily be enough for 2 crusts. I doubled the recipe and had left over custard. I just cooked it in a seperate dish with the pies and topped it with struesel and had another dessert. This is a definite "do again"!! Please note that it is a time consuming pie to make but you get what you bargain for!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iamthevintagelady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poway, California, USA
Living In: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
I cut down the sugar in the custard down to 1 cup. This was real easy and very YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Fantastic! Pie was the hit of a dinner party! Some reviews complained that the pie is too sweet and users reported cutting back on sugar and butter. Not me! I'm here to tell ya that I used ALL the sugar and ALL the butter (yeah it's a lot) and that's what makes it great! It's dessert, not a green smoothie! Treat yourself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
A friend gave me the exact same recipe and it's always a hit! Very easy to prepare and always delicious. It's now something I'm asked to bring to every holiday dinner. :) One thing I do is add in a bit more than 2 apples so that there's a bit more apple mixed with the custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
My first pie ever I baked and it was wonderful. Super easy and looked like it took a lot of time. My family loved it. I'm baking another for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Just baked this pie again since I had an extra crust. I was distracted during preparation and completely forgot the buttermilk and flour in the custard. The pie came out ugly but still completely delicious. Love this pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
YUUUUUMMMM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I absolutely LOVE this pie!!! My mother-in-law is an excellent cook and she recommended I make this my signature dessert. I do not use the crumb topping and my pie comes out of the oven with a sugary crusty top. Out of a dozen people, only one didn't care for the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lewistown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States