Warm Apple Buttermilk Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
We love this and will make again. We did cut down on the white sugar a bit like other reviewers said. We did not have buttermilk so we used milk w/ vinegar. The custard comes way up while cooking so a deep dish pie dish is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparks, Nevada, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I'm not sure how anyone gets past the overwhelming sweetness to award this recipe so highly. I love sweet, and this was just too much for me; even my kids who are sugar crazed couldn't finish a small piece. I tried to scrape the topping off just to salvage the pie, but even then it was still difficult to stomach. I think if I made it again, I would leave off the topping(or cut sugar amounts in half) and use 1/4 cup sugar on the apples and 1 cup sugar in the custard. I'm wanting to give the recipe 2 stars, but feel that the pie would be really good if the sugar wasn't such a problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Go Fish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Cindy made this after church (10-4-09) and Jill and I had a piece before we hit the road to drive home. The flavor was delicious but, we cut into it too soon. Next time it definately needs to set up some. Excellent taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
This pie is absolutely delicious! I made the recipe as is except i cut the sugar to 1 cup in the custard and it was perfect. I did add more apples because i used a large deep dish pie plate. The ONLY change i will make next time is to use a different topping....it stayed very much like sugar and not very crumbly. Perhaps it just needs more butter but i have definately had better results with different toppings in the past. Truly a must try and delicious pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HistoryHarlot
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I LOVE this pie. I make a couple of alterations (adding vanilla when I cook the apples, for example) but it's a great recipe and my favorite pie to make. The only thing is that I notice that for some reason I always have far more filling than the pie crust can hold. It's not a huge issue - better too much than too little. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HistoryHarlot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Mmm. This was really good. I used a homemade pie crust b/c I love crust and the storebought ones are like cardboard. The only thing I noticed, and I NEVER think things are too sweet, was that the custard portion seemed overly sweetened - almost like candy. So next time I would reduce the sugar I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NKTAUBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Very good recipe! A keeper! The reasons I gave it 4 stars are the following. I discovered we did not have any apples, so I used zucchini instead! Awesome!! Also, instead of using a ready made pie shell I made pie shell useing Ruth's Grandma's pie crust from this site! I also cut all sugar to half the amount listed. Came out just right! Wow! Excellent! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darrol J. Unruh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buhler, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fredericktown, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ally Windham
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Very good recipe. I did cut back on the sugar as suggested and accidentally when I was doing the apple part, I added too much butter so I just doubled the amount of apple and halfed the amount of custard. It came out delicious! I definitely will make this recipe again (with my changes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally Windham
Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This is by far the yummiest pie I have EVER made! I loved it! Along with everyone else. I brought it to a christmas party and I was told by my younger cousin that if I didnt bring it next year then he wouldnt let me in the door. haha It was such a hit that I made it again for another holiday party a few days later and it was just as big of a hit there. I fallowed the recipe exactly except I did use 3 apples and used a deep dish pie crust and it was just enough. 2 apples probably wouldnt have been enough for the pie. I didnt think it was to sweet as some people had said. It was perfect! Im sure this is going to become a dessert I will be making for any special event along with whenever i feel like making a good dessert from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara H.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
My family loved this! It was a hit on our Thanksgiving table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States