Warm Apple Buttermilk Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This pie received rave reviews by all. The only thing i did differently from the recipe was to cut back on the butter to 1 T and to use 3 apples. I used a deep dish pie plate and it was just slightly too much custard. The custard firmed up beautifully and the flavor was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This was very good. I didn't do the crumble topping however, still delicious though. Instead we drizzled with a little caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staci mc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
This has become a regular at my house, whenever we have leftover buttermilk I pull out this pie recipe. My edits: - 5-6 small granny smith apples - 1/4 cup sugar with the apples - 1 cup sugar with the custard - made in a deep-dish pie plate with pilsbury crust I've made the original recipe as well, and it wasn't well received (too sweet, not enough apples). I find that increasing the apples and decreasing the sugar has made it a crowd-pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peter Near

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chatham, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
This pie has become a family favorite. I made several for a charity event and they sold for $500.00 and up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yelgab

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Newark, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
everyone was kindof spilit on this. If they loved the flavor then they didnt like the texture of the custard. And if they could get past the custard they thought it was too sweet or not enough apples. I thought it was very good, but definitely very werid combination of things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This pie was GREAT!!! Better served cold. I added more apples and used a deep dish pie crust...came out perfectly I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Very tasty! I've made 4 of these pies now for family, friends, and one for my office Thanksgiving party. Everyone loves them. The first time I made it was for a pie-baking contest at Georgia Tech, and it tied for 1st place. This pie is a winner! It is VERY sweet, but at long as you don't have a huge piece, it's not a problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This was really good warmed up. The apple pie ended up cooling down by the time I got to try it. So, I warmed it up in the microwave. It was yummy. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnshamrock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
My mother and I made this for thanksgiving last year and received rave reviews for it. Making it again this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollie Moo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Does anyone know if this can be frozen? Overall: This was my first pie and it was excellent to make and eat! I was intimidated at first, but surprised at the lack of complicatedness and my family loved it! I'm giving it 4 stars b/c I followed some suggestions made by other reviewers. Changes: I used 1 T butter and 2 T sugar in apple mixture and it was definitely sweet enough. I also only used 1 C white sugar in custard. Problems: I found my custard did not mix as the recipe calls for. First of all, I couldn't get the butter and sugar to be creamy, stayed grainy both pies I made. Also, the yellow never disappeared as recipe says it should while one ads the eggs one at a time. I was confused by this b/c if you have just butter, sugar and 4 eggs, how will there ever be no yellow?? Neither of these happened for me, but did not seem to matter. Next time: I used a store bought pie crust and noticed it was the weakest part of the pie. I'll try making my own crust when I'm feeling braver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States