Warm Apple Buttermilk Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
OMG!!! This was great! If you are a fan of custard, you have to try this. I didnt have buttermilk so I made my own with vinegar and milk. Turned out perfect. Did cut back the sugar slightly also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup as other reviewers suggested and my dad still complained that it was a little sweet the first time I made it (but no complaints after that). I had a larger pie plate, so increased the apples (but not the sugar on them); that worked very well, except some of the sugar syrup seeped into the bottom of the oven, so the second time around I sat the pie on a foil-lined baking sheet, which worked great. This pie just doesn't last in our house; 5 stars are not enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I made this pie exactly as the directions stated since I like it on the sweet side. It was amazing!!! Got rave reviews from my family and my boyfriends band members. Comfort food at its best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Good enough, but runny. We loed the topping though! Wont make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Donahue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Indiana, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
WONDERFUL!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Very good and easy! I followed other's advice and cut the sugar back by 1/2 throughout the recipes. but I think that was to much. Next time I will cut by 1/3. I aslo used 3 good size apples, which was fine. I could have added 4 and the custard would not have over flowed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Yummmmm; Pie turn out great, after making the crust, found out 2 apples wasn't enough for a 10"pie, maybe recipe was to be a 8", or 2lb of apples. I used 6 apples, tripled the butter when cooking the apples. I did a double recipe of the custard but didn't use it all, used enough to cover apples, 1 an half on the custard would have worked. Crust was crisp a crunchy, perfect topping. Every one loved this pie, making 2 for next holiday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Very Delicious! This one I will make again! The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
WHAT A WINNEER!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This pie received rave reviews by all. The only thing i did differently from the recipe was to cut back on the butter to 1 T and to use 3 apples. I used a deep dish pie plate and it was just slightly too much custard. The custard firmed up beautifully and the flavor was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States