Warm Apple Buttermilk Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Very delicious warm and cold. Just cut down the sugar as others have suggested and it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Oliva Cox

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ho Chi Minh City, Dong Nam Bo, Viet Nam
Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BostonLiz
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
Saturday night I won an apple pie baking contest at Pumplefest 2006 with this pie!! It is soooo yummy! I have another one in the oven right now because I didn't really get to have any! The only things I changed were adding a little extra apples (beware the custard will make it overflow if you add more than the rec. 2 apples) and I split all the cinn with some nutmeg, too. :) It was a clear crowd favorite and so easy to make! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
I am famous within my large family for my pies and have made hundreds of different varities. When I made this for the family all proclaimed that THIS was the best pie I had ever made. Truly a keeper!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
The best pie I have EVER had. Absolutely delicious and my company fought over who got the last slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
This was so good. It was finished in one day. The buttermilk custard was so rich and creamy. The only thing I would change would be to put a little less of the streusel on top. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spanish Fork, Utah, USA
Living In: Olivehurst, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
Delicious! We couldn't wait for it to cool all the way before tasting it... Very rich and sweet. Upon the advice of other reviewers, I reduced the sugar to 1 cup in the custard. (I used Granny Smith)I also cut the butter and sugar in half to cook the apples. The streusel is very good, maybe a little too sugary also. Anyway, this is very good and I cannot wait to have some in the morning- when it has cooled and "set". Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
This pie is awesome! It takes two of my favorites and combines them perfectly...I especially liked the streusel topping...my boyfriend as already asked when I will be baking this pie again!! I followed the recipe to the letter and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
Best apple pie I ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
SwEEt!!! This recipe calls for way too much sugar!!! For the apples I used only 1/8 cup of butter and 2 tablespoons of sugar. I figured that apples are already sweet on its own. And I only made half of the buttermilk custard with just 1/2 cup of sugar. It was the perfect amount to fill an 8" pie. In addition, I strained the custard to get a smoother texture.....and the pie turned out nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
This pie is delicious and very different. Just what I was looking for. The recipe makes enough of the buttermilk custard for 2 pies. Next time I will double the apples and make 2 pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BebbieDuck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States