Warm Apple Buttermilk Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
this pie was excellent i thought it was just the perfect amount of apples it wasnt too sweet and it was nice and thick like custard should be if yours was runny you obviously did something wrong i think this pie deserves better than people are giving it wonderful pie thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I absolutely love this pie! It was perfect for my family. Everybody loved it! But I'd recommend for the Custer use 3 tablespoons of flour instead of 2 and a bit more sugar .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Custard set up fine, but did need to bake for about 10 min. longer than recipe states, maybe because we doubled the apples? Apples and topping very tasty, custard good texture, but VERY egg-y. We did cut the sugar back to 1/4C with the apples and 1C in the custard; still sweet, but not sickeningly so. Would like to try honey with the apples instead of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
We found this pie to be much too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
We loved this pie. I didn`t use so mush sugar that the recipe calls for, just 1/2 cup for the custard. Delicious, sure this pie will become the one of my favorite apple desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
very good. Sweetness was just right for this type of pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I tried it today, following the advice of others, I used 3 apples not 2 and cooked them in a pan lightly sprayed with Pam and only used a tsp of sugar. I used 1 cup of sugar in the custard. Because I was short on buttermilk I used a 1/2 cup of buttermilk and 1/4 cup regular milk. I used 1/4 cup oatmeal and 1/4 c flour in place of the flour in the streusel topping. I also added some unncooked blueberries in with the apples when I put the pie together. Turned out delicious! The whole family said the recipe was a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This pie is AMAZING! I made just as written except I missed the flour in the crumble topping. It was delicious and everyone that ate a piece loved it! You can't eat more than one piece, but that means you might have leftovers! Will make again for sure! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
really good ill cut off some sugar next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
OMG!!! This was great! If you are a fan of custard, you have to try this. I didnt have buttermilk so I made my own with vinegar and milk. Turned out perfect. Did cut back the sugar slightly also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States