Walter's Chicken and Mac Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This was so easy and very yummy! I did add the suggestions others mentioned. Used 1 can of cheddar cheese soup instead of cream of chicken/mushroom and used mild shredded cheddar cheese. I added chopped onions and chopped celery and sauteed them with olive oil with the canned sliced mushrooms. Used 1 tsp. of garlic powder, 1 tsp. onion powder, salt & pepper, and red pepper flakes. Also using 2 handfuls of Panko bread crumbs made a nice touch. My stepkids even liked this! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mare

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnutport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
I used a deli chicken, healthy cream of mushroom soup, Kraft crumbles and 1percent milk. I made a topping of buttered, crushed saltines. My husband ate half the recipe! Easy and a real comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Loved it! I omitted the mushrooms because my son and I don't like them. Added chili pepper, cumin, onion powder, garlic powder, salt, and pepper to the chicken while cooking it in olive oil. I added the same spices to the dish when mixing all the ingredients together. It had a Mexican flavor. I think next time I will forgo the milk and spices and try a can of enchilada sauce! Very yummy! (I would've used onions, instead of onion powder, and assorted bell peppers if my son would eat them.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by captivatingbrook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I doubled the recipe. I used 3 chicken breasts that filleted first, then marinated in 1/4 cup olive oil, 1 tbps balsamic vinegar, 1 tbps dijon mustard, 3 tsps poultry seasoning, and 1 tsp of Tastefully Simple's Garlic Garlic. I put the marinade and chicken fillets into a zippered freezer bag and made sure the chicken was completely coated, then took as much air out of the bag as possible and put in the fridge for two hours. Then I grilled them on high until they were cooked through. Instead of just cream of chicken soup, I used one can of cream of chicken and 1 can of cream of mushroom. I didn't use the sliced mushrooms because I was cooking for three picky kids. It was a hit with all of them. The one who doesn't like mac and cheese liked the mac and cheese part; the one who likes mac and cheese but only the boxed kind wasn't thrilled with it, but she ate it; the one who doesn't like anything had two servings. I will definitely make this again. I have a similar recipe that I use and just use uncooked cubed chicken (it cooks when it's baking) and I love it, but the grilled chicken (rather than plain chicken or even plain cooked chicken) really makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Round Hill, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Excellent! Made some minor changes. Only 2 of us so cut it in half. As suggested by others, used half milk half sour cream. I combined shredded cheddar and shredded pepperjack cheeses - what a nice combination! I also added some garlic powder and about 1/4 cup diced onions. I used already cooked Tyson's Southwest chicken strips and baked for about 25 mins, then put canned fried onion on top. Cooked for another 10 mins and added a little shredded cheddar on tip. Delicious! Halving the recipe was perfect for 2 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I must admit, I wasn't at all certain how this would be, but I made a half a recipe and it was enough for 3 small single-serve casseroles. Froze them all and had the first one last night. Holy Tamoley - it was absolutely delicious! Far exceeded my expectations. It'd be good even without the chicken, just the macaroni, cheese and mushrooms. An easy way to make homemade mac & cheese. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Very good family friendly My only wish is if there was a way for the chicken not to be so dried out. but, otherwise it was great and easy. Me, my husband and my 1 year old liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Yum! My husband & I had to force ourselves to put down the forks. After reading all the comments, I also added spices (garlic powder, paprika, Old Bay, & Nature's seasoning). I didn't have bread crumbs, so I used the Frenches fried onions. It added crunch & some salty onion flavor. I had leftover rotisserie chicken which made it even easier. I will make this again & again. I made this a 2nd time & used leftover ham. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rainbow_duck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I gave this recipe 5 stars because it is super easy and really delicious! I was surprised at how good it tasted with of the simplicity of the ingredients. My whole family loved it, especially the kids. A few changes were made: I omitted the mushrooms and added about one cup of shredded mozzarella I wanted to use up. I used pre-cooked frozen chicken tenders, defrosted and cut into bite size pieces. This is the perfect meal for a quick, weeknight dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Made this as written. Not a winner here. It wasn't bad just not really good. My husband and boys all have big appetites but there are PLENTY of leftovers. I'll probablly end up eating some for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

See how to make an easy baked chicken tetrazzini.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Four-Cheese Macaroni

Watch how to make this top-rated macaroni and cheese recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States