Walnut-Tarragon Chicken Tenders Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
Really quick and really easy! To try and make the recipe a little healthier, I used only the egg white and skim milk. I also put in more a little more walnut and went light on the flour (to cut carbs and up the protein) And finally I omitted the butter and just used olive oil. I really just love how crisp the breading gets and how juicy the chicken stays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUTTERFLYBAKER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake City, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
my review is only 3, dredged in seasoned flour first then egg wash then in pecan crumbs and panko, pecan was to large needs to be fine crumbs otherwise was great, the original recipe was a 5 except should dredge in flour fie=rst , it makes the rest stick better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed.Dolanski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
This is my new FAVORITE chicken recipe! I made my tenders very thin and used a bladed-meat tenderizer, because I am very particular about my chicken consistency. I made the mistake of not chopping the walnuts small enough, which made breading a bit messy. Next time I'll fine-chop my walnuts and this recipe will be absolutely superb. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janel Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
This is wonderful! We really enjoyed the texture differences in the nuts and the chicken, and the flavor was great. I will always use nuts to "bread" my chicken from now one - this is just too good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
This recipe is wonderful. I used cashews instead of walnuts, and my son who hates nuts ate everything on his plate and went back for seconds! Highly recommend this recipe to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paris Love

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
This recipe was great. I susbtituted the walnuts with almonds and pecans. It was absolutly Delish!!!! I plan on trying again on guest this weekend!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I just made this for lunch and it was delicious! I substituted 1 cup of fat free half and half for the milk and since I had egg beaters, I used 1/4 cup of those instead of the egg. I also dipped half of the tenders twice in the two mixtures because I had so much left over and they were really crunchy and very good as well. Thanks for the great easy recipe, Dusty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Riverdale, Maryland, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
mmmmmmm, we thought this recipe was srumptious! i used real chicken tenders (instead of slicing a boneless breast) & whole milk. the subtle tarragon flavor along with a nutty breading are also nice features. this dish served well with corn on the cob & potato salad. thank you dusty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I used my moule to grind up the walnuts, and I think the size was too small because the taste of the walnuts pretty much got lost in the flour (maybe there was too much flour for this?). I followed the recipe exactly, and it made for a nice dinner, but our leftovers really didn't cut it. I will try this again but make the changes that I have written about. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
This is the best chicken tender recipe I have ever made. My husband, and two teenaged kids loved them. The tenders came out most and had a good crunch. I used cashews instead of walnuts, cause that's what I had in the pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Pineapple Chicken Tenders

See how to make juicy, tender grilled chicken skewers.

Juicy Roasted Chicken

Try this easy and delicious way to make a juicy roast chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States