Walnut Raisin Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I found the scones to be moist and light. The only thing I changed was add 1/4 cup more buttermilk due to the high altitude. I played with the ingredients by adding chocolate chips and pecans or pecans and cranraisins. Instead of white sugar I used cane sugar and increased the amount to 3 tablespoons. Sometimes I would put cinnamon too. My mother plans on using dried apricots and walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I am not hugely into sweets but this recipe needs more sugar or honey or something. There is no sweetness to it at all. They are pretty good served warm with alot of honey but I far prefer "Grandma Johnson's Scones" recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberry, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Loved it. They are sweet just enough to love them, but not enough to call them a "dessert".....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
These came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Didn't add the lemon zest, but did add an extra 2 Tbsp. of sugar to the batter. These were wonderful - will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
These are divine! I made a couple of substitutions based on my inventory: used 1 c whole wheat pastry flour in place of an equal amount of all-purpose, I used unsalted butter and increased salt by 1/4 t (I like a salty/buttery taste to my baked goods, so I really wouldn't have minded even more!) I soaked my raisins in water for about 15 mins beforehand...almost didn't grease the pan as, with 1/4 lb of butter in the dough, I thought there was no way these would stick, but stick they did. Probably due to the buttermilk & sugar applied before baking. At any rate, none of my substitutions have to do with any lack in the original recipe--it is just great as it is! Use a light touch, as you would with any pastry, and these are just WONDERFUL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
this is so easy and yummy to make! I added shredded coconut and it turned out perfectly! this is on the "must make again" pile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Timiah
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
The recipe itself is fine without any intentional alterations (I say intentional because I was under the impression when it said "add 2 tbsp of the walnuts and raisins" that it called for 2 tbsp of raisins too, not all of them. Also I lowered the temperature to 400 degrees for 12 minutes instead of 425 for 10 so they could cook more evenly without browning too much. Excellent recipe without any added sugar. Thanks for adding it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Timiah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
I didn't add nut, substituted dried cranberries with the raisins and Smart Balance with the butter, and added a teaspoon of (imitation) almond extract, and rolled the dough into a circle and sliced it into 8 triangles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tangerine jellybean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
Very easy! I've never made scones before but I was able to bake some delicious pieces. Instead of raisins I used cranberries and instead of walnuts I used a home-made granola mix. It wasn't overly sweet like the one at Starbucks. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deester

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States