Walnut Raisin Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Mock Clotted Cream Real clotted cream calls for unpasteurized milk which is difficult to find today. This is a substitute that will work, though nothing is quite the same as real clotted cream. INGREDIENTS: 1/2 cup sour cream 1/2 teaspoon vanilla 1/2 cup heavy cream 2 tablespoons confectioners sugar METHOD: Mix together sour cream and vanilla. Beat cream in a cooled bowl. When cream forms into medium-stiff peaks, sprinkle on sugar and continue to beat. When sugar is integrated and peaks are stiff, gently fold in the sour cream/vanilla mixture. Serve with scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I followed the direction exactly and scones came out fluffy and delicious. They were great served with honey or jam, but on their own, they weren't sweet enough. Next time, I'll add more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Wonderful scones....great taste as well as texture. I have frozen them and they reheat beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Super delicious. I didn't have lemon zest so I used orange. Also, I borrowed from another scone recipe regarding the butter. I melted it, added it to the buttermilk, then mixed into the flour mixture. It took less kneading and turned out light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I followed the ingredients as written but replaced raisins with cranberries and pecans for the walnuts. These were just o.k. and I think I might try again. Maybe add a little more sugar and take them out in 15 min. I left them in a little longer and they were harder then I wanted. Heated with jam they were better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayakjoan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Tequesta, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Excellent. Added a teaspoon of cinnamon as suggested by another member. Delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brit B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA
Living In: Aliso Viejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I have made these dozens of times. I tried 4 different scone recipes, each with a different base (sour cream, whipping cream, buttermilk, etc). These buttermilk-base scones definitely turned out the best in flavor, and consistency. I personally like a little more sugar in mine, so I put in about 1/4 a cup of sugar. I also like to brush the tops with a bit more buttermilk and sprinkle sugar. I have done all sorts of scones with this as a base recipe--fresh strawberry, chocolate chip, dried cranberry, dried blueberry, dried cherry....I like the dried fruit ones the best! I usually soak the dried fruit in some water in the microwave for about 20 seconds, then drain the excess and pop them in the batter. Definitely try this recipe if you're looking for a good scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Yum! Like other reviewers I also found the dough to be a bit wet so gradually added about 1/2 cup of flour to make it manageable. I had no buttermilk so I made my own with 1 Tbsp lemon juice and milk added to it to make 1 cup of liquid. Like other reviews suggested I added 2 Tbsp of sugar to make a total of 4 Tbsp sugar in the dough, and I soaked the raisins in boiled water for 10 min. before straining and using them. Totally delicious! I've made them twice already and definitely will make again!!! Thanks for the recipe! (PS: there is a small typo in the recipe at step 2, where it says to reserve 2 Tbsp of the nuts AND raisins. You do not need to reserve any raisins, just the nuts for the topping.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RussellC
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Wow, these are good! So what is it about buttermilk that makes it smell so retched, yet makes baked breads so good? But I digress...The batter was very wet as per the recipe so I had to keep adding flour until I could handle it. I think I added about 1/2 cup extra. They look like they will freeze well, but who am I kidding...they aren't going to last that long. I put the leftovers in a ziplock bag, sucked out the excess air, and stashed them in the refrigerator...until tomorrow morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RussellC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
These are wonderful! I followed the advice of others and added the juice of the lemon to the buttermilk and used all the lemon zest of 1 lemon. I was afraid to knead, but don't be! The kneading makes them look nice and smooth, and they are not at all tough. I brought them to a friend from Scotland who gave them 2 thumbs up, and that's something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States