Walnut Raisin Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
These were great. Delicious. The only changes I made were an extra 2 T. sugar, which is needed; and I soaked the raisins in boiled water for 5-10 minutes to make them nice and plump. Oh, and I added a teaspoon cinnamon. Yum. Will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RussellC
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Wow, these are good! So what is it about buttermilk that makes it smell so retched, yet makes baked breads so good? But I digress...The batter was very wet as per the recipe so I had to keep adding flour until I could handle it. I think I added about 1/2 cup extra. They look like they will freeze well, but who am I kidding...they aren't going to last that long. I put the leftovers in a ziplock bag, sucked out the excess air, and stashed them in the refrigerator...until tomorrow morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RussellC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Didn't add the lemon zest, but did add an extra 2 Tbsp. of sugar to the batter. These were wonderful - will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
These scones are absolutely delicious! All family and friends that have sampled these love them and ask for more. I made them exactly like the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
I've baked a lot of scone recipes, and this is one of the best. I buy lemons or sale and freeze the juice in ice cubes in 1 tlbs. amounts. I didn't have the lemon zest this recipe called for, so I used some of the juice, and cut down the buttermilk and they turned out and tasted great. I will make these only from now on, Thanks for taking the time to give us your great recipe. DENBIE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
This is one of the best recipes I have ever used; certainly the very best scone recipe I own. Everyone just loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2000
Definitely a good choice. I made it for Mother's Day, and everyone wanted seconds- including my father, who never eats scones. They were easy to make and tasted delicious. Definitely don't skip the lemon peel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
Delicious. As good as any scones I had in England. Made them just like the recipe says. Wish I could get clotted cream to put on them instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
Oh my goodness these things are yummy!!! I made them using 1 1/2 cups white flour and 1/2 cup whole wheat, to equal 2 cups. I brought them to a gardening meeting and they were so good that 4 people asked me to send them the recipe. Thanks Eleanor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
Yummy, My sister made this for me while I was visiting and they were wonderful. I am going to make them this weekend for a brunch I am hosting....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States