Walnut Raisin Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
This recipe is a treasure...the very best of a culinary standard. Light, just rich enough. My husband repeated complements all through eating three of them and said, "Don't lose this recipe!" I mixed the dry ingredients last night so I could finish quickly this morning. I served them with strawberries, creme fraiche and jam. Easy to halve recipe. I knead about 6 folds on a floured dinner plate, then pat out a 6" circle (half recipe)and cut into 6 wedges. No mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This is a very good recipe (and the only reason for the 4 stars is that I am fortunate to have even better ones!). I took the advice of other reviewers and used 1/4 cup of sugar, and I added 1 tbsp of orange peel (for the lemon) as I only had an orange. The flavour was great - so I'll use the orange again. I served the scones with strawberry jam and they were excellent accompanying the Cheese Souffles (also from this site) for a brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
These scones are magnificent! I used white whole wheat flour and a little extra sugar, as suggested by some of the other reviewers. I also substituted sour milk for buttermilk, since that's what I had. Added a little lemon extract to accentuate the lemon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I have been known at work for my scones but decided to try a new recipe. This recipe is better than my old one! I did make a few changes. I did not use walnuts (don't like them)and added extra raisins and added a tsp of cinnamon. I lightened it by using light butter and half splenda. I tried vanilla instead (added it to the buttermilk). I also tried it with a chopped dark chocolate. (These went VERY fast- they are heaven right out of the oven)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
For 20 years or more I have used a scone recipe from the Mt. Saviour Monastery Cookbook (Arnold Jerome's Famous Irish Scones). I decided to try this one just for a change. The ingedients are slightly different but basicaly the same, with the exception of the buttermilk-sugar-nut glaze and the cooking temperature (420 vs. 375). I've treasured the Jerome recipe but now I think I've found a competitor. Try these scones. They're over the top--truly delicious. (I used cried cranberries and chopped pecans as that's what was in my pantry).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
This was a great recipe...easy to make and tasty. My only problem was that it came out very biscuit-like. Is there something I can change to make it more like a scone?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
These were some of the best scones I've made! They're not too sweet, but they're delicious and flaky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
I have never had a scone, so have nothing to compare this to; but they were great! I didn't have the lemon but didn't really miss it. Crunchy on the outside, tender on the inside. The recipe halves nicely. I made the dough in my food processor. I liked these better than biscuits & I love biscuits! I would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
I will preface this by saying that I attempted to make these healthier by cutting way down on the butter (using only two tablespoons) and replacing the rest with unsweetened applesauce. They still turned out pretty good, and I don't think the applesauce had a negative effect on the scones as a whole. They were still pretty looking and crunchy on the outside while soft on the inside. I think there may be too many raisins for my taste, and they were a bit on the bitter side so next time I might cut down on the raisins and spread honey or jam on them for serving. Still a great recipe to start with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
Really good recipe. I used dried cranberries and almonds because that is what I had on hand. Will definitley make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States