Walnut Raisin Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Very good basic scone recipe but needs a little more sugar. These are much better than the popular Savoy scones....but then we prefer using buttermilk for sofness and taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This was my first scone recipe from Allrecipes. I added and substituted a little bit, but they turned out wonderful. I used orange zest rather than lemon, and candied fruit (because it's Christmas season!). I also used half margarine and half fat-free Greek yogurt, which worked perfectly. The scones turned out very light and not too sweet, which is just what I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YoungEleanor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Family rating - Five Star. I added a half teas each of cinnamon and cardamom. Also, I reduced the amount of flour by 1/4 cup and substituted about 1/3 cup regular oats. Remember if you do not have buttermilk on hand, use milk and a teas of vinegar per 8 oz. Always works for me. This will be my "go to" recipe for scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Best scones ever. I have made them with black walnuts and dried cranberries as well. Same prportions. Have fun with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I omitted the lemon peel and raisins and added 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon then mixed in a chopped banana at the end of kneading the dough.After reading the other reviews I also added an additional 2 tablespoons of sugar. Great variation with the cinnamon,bananas and walnuts! Delicious.Very light and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinytiger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
I searched for a recipe that had high ratings, as well as an ingredient list that would not require me to change out of my pajamas and head to the store. Yes, it was four in the afternoon and I probably should've already been dressed. Anyhoo, whenever I see buttermilk in a recipe, I mix 1 Tbsp of lemon juice to 1 cup of milk. Who knows how much more awesome these would have been with actual buttermilk, but they were pretty darn SPOT ON! If I may add my two cents, what I had learned in my baking classes is that you want to keep your butter cold, so don't let it hang around getting soft on you at room temperature. I cut the butter into the flour mixture with a bowl scraper (for lack of a pastry blender) so that I wouldn't get my melty hot hands on it either. If you are inclined to do dishes, you can put the whole flour/butter business in a food processor to get the coarse cornmeal texture, but I actually took it to a step before it, where I still had definable, gravel-sized chunks. It's sort of like a flaky pie dough (where you would want pea-sized chunks of butter), as they will help you obtain that flaky texture. Also, do not manhandle the dough: knead gently, adding small amounts of flour, just until you notice the dough come together a bit. Better to undermix than overmix - unless you want walnut raisin paperweights. The scones baked up beautifully, tasted even better. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjmacuha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nativeSDgirl
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
These were my first attempt at scones. I only had whole wheat flour. I doubled the sugar and omitted the walnuts. I must say these were delicious! I cant wait to try them again with other mix-ins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nativeSDgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Delicious when eaten warm right out of the oven. Could use a little bit more lemon (or orange?) flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Fantastic recipe. Never made scones before so was excited to try them. This recipe with the buttermilk was just outstanding, and surely did not disappoint! We will make this again and again for sure! Followed it exactly but had to add a little extra buttermilk to make it right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
MY HUSBAND WENT CRAZY FOR THESE, AND I MAKE A LOT OF SCONES. I MAKE THEM FOR HIM EVERY FEW WEEKS NOW, WHILE TRYING NEW ONES IN BETWEEN. THANKS FOR A GREAT RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEYENNE

Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States