Walnut Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
Wow! If this was just a rating for the topping i'd give it five stars, but I think I prefer the old pie recipe from the pumpkin label just a little more. But the toppiing is a keeper... I'll never make "naked" pumpkin pie again!! I also did find that I had to cook it 10 minutes past the suggested time, and maybe could have stood 5 minutes more.***Note, we ate this pie in the evening, after it had cooled but before chilled. All I can say was it was WAY better then next day cold. The flavors really came together and the texture was awesome!!! I'm making 2 for thanksgiving!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coraopolis, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2001
I have been making this pie at the holidays for a few years now and it is great! Even people who dont like pumpkin pie like this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
I found this to be easy to prepare. It looks impressive and has a nice crunchy thing going on with that delicious topping. My guests went for this pie over the traditional pumpkin, which surprised me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving actually and it turned out GREAT! My step daughter doesn't usually eat pumpkin pie, but once she had a piece she asked if I could make her one for Christmas at her house. It was a hit. You must follow the cooking procedure to the letter as I tried to make one last night and it was a flop because I forgot to cook it at the higher temperature first! It has a wonderful taste that is not "pumpkiny" at all. Thanks Jackie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
This is a recipe that I tried last year and it was a hit! i didn't want to make a traditional pumpkin pie without adding a little magic to it. The walnut topping sure did the trick! This will remain one of my all time favorites as far as pumkpin pies go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
thissss recipe was the best! and it saved my thanksgiving. lately my mother has been so bitter, and stressed out. she loved the pie and told me to do another for new years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This is a fantastic recipe! My fiance says it's the best he's had...big accomplishment! I found, however, that I needed double the suggested amounts for the topping to cover the whole pie. It took alot of flour to get the topping to "crumble"...maybe my butter was too soft... but in all - it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Yummy yummy in my tummy.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I love this recipe! While baking, It smells Soooooo good, too! I just cannot stand ordinary pumpkin pie with regular doughie pie crust, as it's so blase'. This topping is like a streusel and we really like it...and fancy that! What I did differently is, I gave the G.C. Crust an eggwhite wash and pre-baked it in the 425 degree oven for 5 minutes, let it cool some before adding the pumpkin mixture. Used the remainder of the egg white + the called for egg in the mixture. Used pecans rather than walnuts (not a walnut fan either). Other than that, I stuck to the recipe to a "T". Will be making this one again and rotate it with my "Pumpkin Something Crunch" recipe. This recipe is better when you want your pie to look and serve like a pie. *froze some pieces and they thawed well(after 2 weeks), but lost a bit of the crunch. Taste was still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palos Verdes Peninsula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I made the pie from the recipe off the pumpkin can, BUT I did use the topping from the recipe and it was absolutely DELICIOUS. I recommend this topping with any pumpkin pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carolineskr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunwoody, Georgia, USA
Living In: Norcross, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States