Walnut Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
Wow! If this was just a rating for the topping i'd give it five stars, but I think I prefer the old pie recipe from the pumpkin label just a little more. But the toppiing is a keeper... I'll never make "naked" pumpkin pie again!! I also did find that I had to cook it 10 minutes past the suggested time, and maybe could have stood 5 minutes more.***Note, we ate this pie in the evening, after it had cooled but before chilled. All I can say was it was WAY better then next day cold. The flavors really came together and the texture was awesome!!! I'm making 2 for thanksgiving!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coraopolis, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2001
I have been making this pie at the holidays for a few years now and it is great! Even people who dont like pumpkin pie like this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This was SUPER yummy! The only change I would make is to add the nut topping only about 25 or 30 minutes before the pie is done baking. My walnuts and sugar were a little burnt adding them only 15 min into the baking process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Very good! Rich. I made them as individual servings in cupcake papers and worked great for bringing in to work. Just over half the time in the oven, and makes 1 1/2 dozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Eveleth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I made this recipe with a regular crust and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I love this recipe! While baking, It smells Soooooo good, too! I just cannot stand ordinary pumpkin pie with regular doughie pie crust, as it's so blase'. This topping is like a streusel and we really like it...and fancy that! What I did differently is, I gave the G.C. Crust an eggwhite wash and pre-baked it in the 425 degree oven for 5 minutes, let it cool some before adding the pumpkin mixture. Used the remainder of the egg white + the called for egg in the mixture. Used pecans rather than walnuts (not a walnut fan either). Other than that, I stuck to the recipe to a "T". Will be making this one again and rotate it with my "Pumpkin Something Crunch" recipe. This recipe is better when you want your pie to look and serve like a pie. *froze some pieces and they thawed well(after 2 weeks), but lost a bit of the crunch. Taste was still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palos Verdes Peninsula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving actually and it turned out GREAT! My step daughter doesn't usually eat pumpkin pie, but once she had a piece she asked if I could make her one for Christmas at her house. It was a hit. You must follow the cooking procedure to the letter as I tried to make one last night and it was a flop because I forgot to cook it at the higher temperature first! It has a wonderful taste that is not "pumpkiny" at all. Thanks Jackie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This is a fantastic recipe! My fiance says it's the best he's had...big accomplishment! I found, however, that I needed double the suggested amounts for the topping to cover the whole pie. It took alot of flour to get the topping to "crumble"...maybe my butter was too soft... but in all - it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
I found this to be easy to prepare. It looks impressive and has a nice crunchy thing going on with that delicious topping. My guests went for this pie over the traditional pumpkin, which surprised me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I made at least 10 of these pies around Thanksgiving last year! Everyone loved them! I think this is the best pumpkin pie I've ever had. I used fresh pumpkin from my garden instead of canned, but otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. I will for sure be using this recipe again for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States