Walnut Poteca Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Denise
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I made this and everyone said it was better than grandma used to make. Time consuming, but well worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bourbonnais, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2000
A classic! Fabulous and festive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
i really enjoyed this. it was worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metuchen, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sandy v
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I'd really like to see this recipe under "nut roll" because that would have been easier to find. When I made this today, I cut down the recipe to 14 servings (4 rolls), in case it didn't turn out. It turned out great. I left the dough in a ball to rise for several hours (my fast rising yeast must have been on strike). Then I formed the rolls and poked it with a fork to let the steam escape before cooking. I brushed the tops with melted butter when they came out of the oven. They really weren't much trouble at all to make on a small scale. Hopefully the picture I sent will show how good they look!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Just like Grandma made! I also cut this down to 14 servings (4 rolls). I might try to make this next year for co-workers instead of small holiday gifts! It's good that the original recipe is for 16 rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This is an excellent recipe. I was worried because the dough was so stiff (I did not use all the flour called for) and so slow to rise. The wait was worth it. Very moist, flavorful bread. I added some chopped dates to the filling, otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Much easier to make than the mother in laws recipe from Yugoslavia, and best of all, my husband says it tastes better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I love potica but I never have any luck with raised dough recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOGO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Took awhile to find this recipe, my grandmother used to make it & just called it black walnut bread. I used to collect the nuts with my grandfather. I found some woods where they grow wild. I know it was very hard to crack & she'll them, ( any ideas?) also later in life my grandmother bought frozen dough. Does anyone have any ideas has to a brand that would be good, or if it should be a sweet dough ? Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Nut Roll!! I am so happy to see someone put up a recipe similar to my grandmothers famously delicious nut rolls!! Of course, Grandma's is the best. And as soon as I get the exact recipe from her I will post it up here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Fin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Maple Walnut Cranberry Sauce

Maple syrup and walnuts create an amazing cranberry sauce.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States