Walnut Maple Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I have never made fudge before but my husband requested this, I didn't think I would eat any but it is sublime! I used toasted pecans instead of walnuts which were wonderful, next time I'll use about 50% more than the recipe calls for because I like the crunch they add. Next time I'll add a pinch of salt or perhaps salt the pecans while toasting them. The texture of this was really perfect, smooth and creamy instead of dry and grainy like a lot of fudge is. I also agree the presentation was lovely. Thanks for the recipe, I will use it as is and try many modifications in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
I made this fudge as a white chocolate/vanilla fudge instead of maple (I've already made maple fudge this year). So I just used vanilla in place of maple extract. It is so good, and easy to make. It tastes wonderful and cuts very well too. It looks beautiful and will make nice gifts. I'm happy to have found a "white chocolate" recipe for fudge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
I thought this was very good fudge. It set up well for me. It had a good texture and cut nicely. Now one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Herrin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Quite good! I agree with a previous reviewer who said that the white chocolate taste was a little overwhelming. I upped the maple extract to 3 tsp, only added 2 cups of white chocolate chips and I can still taste the chocolate clearly. After reading the other reviews that said their fudge came out too soft I used a candy thermometer to make sure the sugar/milk/butter mixture got all the way to 234 degrees. It boiled for much much longer (I live at a high altitude, that might have been part of it as well). Either way, the marshmallows and chocolate melted just fine and it cooled to the perfect fudge consistency. I also toasted the walnuts before I added them and that was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joesgirljeri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
This recipe is great. You need to make sure you bring it to a fast boil and boil it for 5 minutes. I doubled the recipe and added a smidge more maple extract. Turned out wonderful. Also made the recipe substituting (in a double batch) 2 cups semi sweet chips, and 4 cups milk chocolate chips for the white chips. Made great chocolate fugde. Easier than Aunt Teen's Fudge. I like using the mini marshmellows instead of creme. The mixture boils quicker. Just have to do a lot of stirring after to melt everything. Will make this recipe often. I give a gifts at Christmas time. Everyones loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
This tasted like plain vanilla fudge-not what I expected at all. It's only redeeming qualities are its ease to make, and its smooth texture. If you're looking for something that tastes really 'mapley', keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
This fudge was okay, but the texture wasn't very good. It came out very soft. Also, the flavor was not very strong. The fugde tasted more like the white chocolate chips than maple. Okay recipe, but not the maple fudge recipe that I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
I made it exactly according to the recipe. And it never quite set up enough to cut. I had to put it in the freezer. Tastes great though, I'll probably modify a no fail fudge recipe to make maple fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
Made this without walnuts and it came out superbly smooth and rich. Very easy to make. Will try the next batch with the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
This recipe is the same as on the Nestle's white chocolate morsels bag. I used a candy thermometer and the fudge set up perfectly. Like other folks..I have to agree the taste of the white chocolate over powers the maple. If you are looking for a real maple flavored fudge..this is not the recipe you are looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Maple Walnut Cranberry Sauce

Maple syrup and walnuts create an amazing cranberry sauce.

Fudge

This rich, chocolaty fudge is so easy to make.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States