Walnut-Coconut Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2012
This is a delicious, old-fashioned cake recipe. Reminds me of cakes my grandma used to make. Super duper easy (it was literally mixed and ready to go in the oven in minutes), the only change I made was to toast the walnuts and coconut in a skillet because I love that flavor. I'll make this again, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Catlin
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Love this! I didn't change a thing in the recipe, made just as written. So good! I baked it for 45 minutes and it came out so moist. Wonderful flavors! Will make a great addition to our weekly breakfasts! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Exceptional coffee cake - excellent flavor, not too sweet, and moist. I halved the recipe and baked it in a 9" round cake pan. I also added slightly more coconut (personal preference). Easy, yummy, perfect. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Oh my goodness...this cake is wonderfully delicious. It's moist and its deadly...I cannot get enough of this cake...I end up making it to give away but it doesn't work that way. I eat a slice a day until it's gone and I know better than that...but I can't help it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
This cake was wonderful. I used all brown sugar. I also topped cooled cake with an icing sugar/butter quick frosting. Delish! i got rave reviews from my beau and family! This is definately going to be a frequent visitor in our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
This cake is delicious!!!! I had leftover buttermilk I didn't want to go to waste, coconut flakes that have been sitting around for ages, and leftover walnuts. I admit, the cake didn't sound appetizing to me at all, but boy am I glad I let the other reviews sway my decision! The cake is incredibly moist and delicious. It has a subtle flavor to it, a hint of sweetness, but it is not a rich dessert by any means. If you are looking for a really "coconuty" flavor, I would up the coconut by a 1/2 c. or so. My family and I liked it the way it was though, and thought the hint of coconut was the perfect amount in order to take in all of the other flavors in the cake. Follow the directions as listed, and you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
10 year old son, David, said to give it 5 stars. We doubled the vanilla and cinnamon and left out the walnuts. He said it was better than some desserts. Next time I may also leave out coconut and just make a light cinnamon cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Very good! I love coconut anyway and have been lookin for a new coffee cake recipe. The only change I made was to use coconut oil instead of vegetable oil because I am allergic to soy. This a keeper! Will definately make again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
My new Holy Grail coffee cake, minutes to throw it together, not too sweet, super moist and stays moist until the very last piece is gone...perfect and didn't change a thing, thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Amazing. I made it twice in one week. My boyfriend loves it. It is fluffy and moist and oh so easy to make. I have also tried it with crushed almonds and dried cranberries with a bit of almond extract instead of the walnut and coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States