Walnut Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
That was really good. I have had carob powder in my cupboard for years and never got the perfect recipe to use it in. Finally! Also, it was perfect, because I had 2 leftover eggwhites that I needed to use up. I did use 3/4 cup sugar instead of 1 cup, and it still came out really sweet. I also used carob chips instead of walnuts, as I did not hav any. Came out sooo good! The only thing I would say, is that for some reason, I felt that the batter was too little and it did not rise at all, so I had a very thin brownie. I wonder if everyone got that result. They tasted perfect though! Rich, chewy and so easy to make. Baked 30 mins, as the recipe asks and that was enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
These carob brownies were the best ever. I've tried many other carob brownie recipes and I was dissapointed. These were so close to regular fudge brownies. I made a carob fudge frosting to top them and they were mmmm mmmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Great recipe. First time carob user, and the brownies turned out great. It took us only 30-35 minutes with a 15 minute cool down. My husband and son loved them. I used 2 whole eggs and pecans. Will try with whole wheat flour next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
Used two whole eggs, and 100% whole wheat flour, no white flour at all. The brownies were VERY moist, really good, and the chocolate lovers in our house even enjoyed these! Bake time was about 45 mins. My favorite dessert ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
Excellent brownies made with stuff you have around all the time. I used special dark cocoa powder instead of carob and 2 whole eggs (batter was too dry otherwise)Sure took care of the chocolate craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
These were ok. I didnt really like the carrob powder however, and they were a bit dry, but i probably did something wrong because a friend made these and they were really chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
Delicious and addictive! I was thrilled to find this recipe with carob. I made some alterations: whole wheat flour vs. all-purpose, 2/3 cup brown sugar instead of white, and added 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
absolutely amazing! came out very chewy and sweet, i needed to cook it for about 50 min thou and the carob colored the mouth black so don't eat to many :) but they taste very good and rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-48 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Zucchini Brownies

Moist fudgy brownies with a secret squash surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States