Walnut Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Brandy Svensson
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
They were pretty good. I doubled the recipe and used what I had on hand - cocoa powder, 2 whole eggs instead of egg whites, and a little whole-wheat flour in there for fiber. Overall, really good, but it dried out a bit after it cooled down. Best eaten 15 min. after removal from the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy Svensson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
These brownies are easy to make and they bake in no time. All my kids loved them and asked me to make them again. I used Earth balance instead of butter. I have also made these brownies with coco powder and they are great, I prefer the carob. Very chewy and will cure a chocolate craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
completely changed this up to make triple dark chocolate walnut brownies. no butter, 1/2 the sugar. whole wheat flour, whole eggs. but then i added a square of unsweeetned baking chocolate melted in the microwave in a tablespoon of applesauce, then topped off with more applesauce to make he mixture about 1/2 cup total, and added a generous squirt of special dark chcolate sauce. made these to use up the walnuts so i used all i had, didn't measure. waaay easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
i made with 2 whole eggs, coco powder instead, and no walnuts. it was good, not the best i have had, but i enjoyed it along with boyfriend and guest
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley1987
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
It was good but I think that I overbaked it a little bit; besides that the taste was very chocolate like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eternal.happiness

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by A Leaves Wish Knot
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
The recipe as is, isn't worth making again ( original score of 3 stars) unless you have dietary restrictions. However, after implementing ideas left by other users such as; two whole eggs and I added specialty chocolate. After that, I can say yes!!! It's the best!!! Its moist and substantial. I made double the recipe to help it fill the pan. Thanks everyone! final score 5 stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Super recipe! Very moist, and so easy to make! Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Hutton-Loyer

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Morgantown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I made these for my family, and they were a hit. I only used 2 eggs and added about half a cup of milk. They turned out great and had a great milk chocolate taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olivia Throgmorton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Johnston City, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Wonderful brownies! We didnt have carob powder, so we used cocoa powder and 1 unsweetened chocolate baking sqaure, melted down the butter. Turned out wonderful!! I have got to get my hands on carob powder so I can try it out exactly as the recipe is written, but this was wonderful. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Dobbs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
That was really good. I have had carob powder in my cupboard for years and never got the perfect recipe to use it in. Finally! Also, it was perfect, because I had 2 leftover eggwhites that I needed to use up. I did use 3/4 cup sugar instead of 1 cup, and it still came out really sweet. I also used carob chips instead of walnuts, as I did not hav any. Came out sooo good! The only thing I would say, is that for some reason, I felt that the batter was too little and it did not rise at all, so I had a very thin brownie. I wonder if everyone got that result. They tasted perfect though! Rich, chewy and so easy to make. Baked 30 mins, as the recipe asks and that was enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Zucchini Brownies

Moist fudgy brownies with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States