Walnut Banana Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This is a great dessert. I omitted the walnuts and put in chocolate chips. I was also very generous with the vanilla essence and the cinnamon. I sprinkled demerara sugar as soon as it came out of the oven. It gave it a nice crunch. I used left over bread rolls from a barbecue. I don't think it matters what kind of bread one uses. Highly recommend. It cuts up great into squares making it easy to serve for a buffet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
This was soo delicious and a wonderful breakfast meal. I used pecans instead and it was just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
The texture was nice, but a little much on the banana flavor for my liking. Tastes similar to banana bread, but more work involved. I'm going to try again with less banana and maybe add vanilla pudding like another reviewer tried. Added caramel sauce on top which was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Yum. I followed it fairly closely, except I added extra cinnamon and vanilla. It was moist and delicious. Next time I might add chocolate chips or cocoa powder for an extra element.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Not sure why people complain about the consistency of this pudding, the picture says it all and also - this is the way real bread pudding is supposed to be. I never made it before, and I knew I wanted banana walnut, and that is how I found the recipe. I took it to a BBQ last weekend and every single person went crazy over it. It is absolutely, positively delish and I agreed with those at the party, the BEST they ever had. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
The flavor is fantastic! Reading the reviews on how the coconut flavor doesn't come through, I added 1/2 tsp or 1 tsp of coconut extract and it was perfect! However I found this bread pudding to be a bit greasy. In fact I halved the amount of butter because I just didn't find it necessary and I substituted the heavy cream with skim milk. I've never cooked/ baked with coconut milk before so maybe it makes things naturally oily...? But even with the changes I made, I still find it a bit heavy on the stomach. Very delicious though! Just not quite the light breakfast bread pudding I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I liked it but I think it was just too rich for my tummy. I also used light coconut milk. I still have half left in the freezer. My daughter liked it a lot, my husband said it was too much for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zestychef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northridge, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
made this with day old sourdough bread turned out great will do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Futch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rensselaer, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
This was amazing. This was my first time ever making bread pudding - but I love bread pudding without raisens and love banana bread - so when I had too many ripe bananas and too many Costco rolls left over this receipe was perfect. I ended up letting it be in the refridge for about 16-17 hours, as I prepared it mid day and cooked it the next morning - I was concerned it might be too soggy, but not at all. I also made this recipe without walnuts - as a personal preference. Preparing this dish was super, super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: La Habra, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Ya know, I love a good bread pudding. I can't rave enough about this. I have issues with baking with bananas other then banana bread. I just don't like desserts baked with bananas. It just something about bananas baked, just I don't know, the flavors are weird. But give me a banana bread, and we are good to go. SO having said that.. I did have bananas that needed to be used, but I didn't want the "stand by" of banana bread. trying different recipes. I saw this and thought...geesh what could happen. What did happen is I fell in love with this breakfast treat. My husband was the same, bread puddings are his fave. I will say, I didn't have day old French bread, but did have an abdunance of different selections, that was getting to that point. Any good yeasted bread will work. And as far as the rest of the recipe, I followed to a T. I love the additon of the spices because they really made the flavor of the banana stand out with the compliments of the cinnamon. And there was no taste lingering from the coconut milk...which I expected to taste. Thank you soo much for the recipe. I was able to use up excess bananas, bread and coconut milk...all in one shot and enjoyed it termendously! No one in my house turned away from asking for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States