Walnut Banana Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I made this recipe tonight and it was delicious. I read some of the reviews and yes it is very heavy and dense which thats what I expected, I make a lot of desserts from Jamaica and a lot of their cakes are dense and heavy which I knew it would be perfect for my husband being from Jamaica. In mine I added raisins and I wanted something sweet tonight so I didn't wait for the next day to bake it I let it sit for an hour before putting it in the oven and it came out perfect.I made me and my husband a bowl of it with some vanilla ice cream and as we started eating it I looked at him and it was so good I wanted to slap him in the face. That's how good it was I didn't have no words at the time lol. This dessert is definitely going into my secret recipe vault and I'm sorry but I'm not going to share it with anyone lol. But I will be making it for all my friends and family and no one's ever going to get this recipe. I'm so happy I came across this recipe it's like totally awesome I ate so much of it my eyes are bulging right now so I need to go sleep this off. when i make banana pudding I always use leftover bread i don't like to use a new loaf so I had some stale bread bread that was the ends of white bread, wheat baguette, stale hot dog and hamburger rolls.some stale some soft and I just broke it all up in the followed the recipe and it came out perfectly. you can't even tell what is what in the recipe so to me the bread doesn't make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maino

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davie, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
It was delicious. I will try adding shredded coconut next time for more coconut flavor. I hope will be moist just like this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This is a great dessert. I omitted the walnuts and put in chocolate chips. I was also very generous with the vanilla essence and the cinnamon. I sprinkled demerara sugar as soon as it came out of the oven. It gave it a nice crunch. I used left over bread rolls from a barbecue. I don't think it matters what kind of bread one uses. Highly recommend. It cuts up great into squares making it easy to serve for a buffet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
This was soo delicious and a wonderful breakfast meal. I used pecans instead and it was just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
The texture was nice, but a little much on the banana flavor for my liking. Tastes similar to banana bread, but more work involved. I'm going to try again with less banana and maybe add vanilla pudding like another reviewer tried. Added caramel sauce on top which was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Yum. I followed it fairly closely, except I added extra cinnamon and vanilla. It was moist and delicious. Next time I might add chocolate chips or cocoa powder for an extra element.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Not sure why people complain about the consistency of this pudding, the picture says it all and also - this is the way real bread pudding is supposed to be. I never made it before, and I knew I wanted banana walnut, and that is how I found the recipe. I took it to a BBQ last weekend and every single person went crazy over it. It is absolutely, positively delish and I agreed with those at the party, the BEST they ever had. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
The flavor is fantastic! Reading the reviews on how the coconut flavor doesn't come through, I added 1/2 tsp or 1 tsp of coconut extract and it was perfect! However I found this bread pudding to be a bit greasy. In fact I halved the amount of butter because I just didn't find it necessary and I substituted the heavy cream with skim milk. I've never cooked/ baked with coconut milk before so maybe it makes things naturally oily...? But even with the changes I made, I still find it a bit heavy on the stomach. Very delicious though! Just not quite the light breakfast bread pudding I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I liked it but I think it was just too rich for my tummy. I also used light coconut milk. I still have half left in the freezer. My daughter liked it a lot, my husband said it was too much for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zestychef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northridge, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
made this with day old sourdough bread turned out great will do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Futch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rensselaer, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Banana Pudding IV

See how to make a luscious and creamy no-bake dessert!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States