Walnut Banana Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This sounded like a good bread pudding recipe but I didn't want a banana flavor so i substituted 1 1/2 cups of Vanilla pudding for the mashed banana - it turned out DIVINE!!! Served it warm with 1/2 and 1/2 poured over it, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Expectations are everything and this didn’t turn out the way I expected. I was hoping for a bread pudding that leaned toward the lighter side with a custard like texture, but this turned out dense and heavy. It was so dense that it could be cut into solid pieces like a piece of cake. Talk about banana, banana, banana! The coconut milk was the ingredient that attracted me to this recipe and I couldn’t even taste it. I ended up making a rum sauce and poured it over the top for a contrasting flavor. All in all, it was good, but nothing I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Ya know, I love a good bread pudding. I can't rave enough about this. I have issues with baking with bananas other then banana bread. I just don't like desserts baked with bananas. It just something about bananas baked, just I don't know, the flavors are weird. But give me a banana bread, and we are good to go. SO having said that.. I did have bananas that needed to be used, but I didn't want the "stand by" of banana bread. trying different recipes. I saw this and thought...geesh what could happen. What did happen is I fell in love with this breakfast treat. My husband was the same, bread puddings are his fave. I will say, I didn't have day old French bread, but did have an abdunance of different selections, that was getting to that point. Any good yeasted bread will work. And as far as the rest of the recipe, I followed to a T. I love the additon of the spices because they really made the flavor of the banana stand out with the compliments of the cinnamon. And there was no taste lingering from the coconut milk...which I expected to taste. Thank you soo much for the recipe. I was able to use up excess bananas, bread and coconut milk...all in one shot and enjoyed it termendously! No one in my house turned away from asking for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Not sure why people complain about the consistency of this pudding, the picture says it all and also - this is the way real bread pudding is supposed to be. I never made it before, and I knew I wanted banana walnut, and that is how I found the recipe. I took it to a BBQ last weekend and every single person went crazy over it. It is absolutely, positively delish and I agreed with those at the party, the BEST they ever had. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Holy cow! This is close-your-eyes-and-say-mmmm delicious! I didn't and wouldn't change a thing. Not for the calorie-counter, this is rich, dense, and all about the banana. It's a plan ahead kind of dessert as you really do need to let it sit and soak the full 8 hrs to maximize the yumminess. Yes, you can cut it into pieces; good bread pudding is like that. The coconut milk adds more richness than coconut flavor, though a hint of coconut does come through. I really like this best at room temp, if you can wait that long. A real show-stopper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlakay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I liked it but I think it was just too rich for my tummy. I also used light coconut milk. I still have half left in the freezer. My daughter liked it a lot, my husband said it was too much for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zestychef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northridge, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Yum. I followed it fairly closely, except I added extra cinnamon and vanilla. It was moist and delicious. Next time I might add chocolate chips or cocoa powder for an extra element.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
The flavor is fantastic! Reading the reviews on how the coconut flavor doesn't come through, I added 1/2 tsp or 1 tsp of coconut extract and it was perfect! However I found this bread pudding to be a bit greasy. In fact I halved the amount of butter because I just didn't find it necessary and I substituted the heavy cream with skim milk. I've never cooked/ baked with coconut milk before so maybe it makes things naturally oily...? But even with the changes I made, I still find it a bit heavy on the stomach. Very delicious though! Just not quite the light breakfast bread pudding I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
made this with day old sourdough bread turned out great will do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Futch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rensselaer, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
This was amazing. This was my first time ever making bread pudding - but I love bread pudding without raisens and love banana bread - so when I had too many ripe bananas and too many Costco rolls left over this receipe was perfect. I ended up letting it be in the refridge for about 16-17 hours, as I prepared it mid day and cooked it the next morning - I was concerned it might be too soggy, but not at all. I also made this recipe without walnuts - as a personal preference. Preparing this dish was super, super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: La Habra, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Banana Pudding IV

See how to make a luscious and creamy no-bake dessert!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States