Walnut Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
These walnut balls were good, but I will make some slight changes next time. 1) The walnuts should be very, very finely chopped or ground. I will grind. The medium chop I did was not delicate enough for these balls and chunks should not be present. 2) The recipe could use a tablespoon or two more butter. They were too crumbly and became dry after a couple days. Also, don't be fooled by the small amount of sugar called for. When you roll them in sugar, they take on much more sweetness. Stick with the 2 tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
I have been making these for Christmas since I found them on this site in 2002 and my family and every one loves these. I put the chopped walnuts in the blender and pulse it a few times to get a finer texture. I then use a Tsp to measure the dough to make them a nice smaller size then 1 inch balls the recipe calls for and I get 5 1/2 dozen cookies. The best part is that I can get all of them on one cookie sheet(They don't spread so you can place them close to one another) I bake them for 12 minutes. Beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
If you like shortbread and nuts, this will do the trick. I think the recipe needed more vanilla (additional tsp) and maybe an egg yolk. It's elegant and well-presented at parties. And sturdy enough to make a good gift. I wouldn't really call it a cookie in the American aspect. Seems to be of British origin. Goes well with coffee and tea. Do NOT substitute butter for margarine. The flavor of the butter and vanilla are essential to the recipe. Overall, good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2004
Although this is the second time I am reviewing this I just had to do it again after all the compliments from my extended family at the holidays. Today I went and visited to pick up my serving dishes from the various parties and so many people said they loved these. Again I substituted about 1/4 cup white flour with cocoa powder to make them chocolate walnut balls. Yum. These are so easy and a good addition to your holiday cookie plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windedmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northborough, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2002
DELICIOUS!!! I substituted pecans for the walnuts and topped with a sprinkling of sugar and cinnamon. So easy to make, too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
My husband ate them all and was looking for more! I didn't have superfine sugar, so I rolled them in confectioner's sugar. I used my pampered chef medium scoop to shape the balls. We loved the look and taste. I will double or even triple the recipe next time as they did not make nearly enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
These were excellent. My daughter, who usually eats like a bird, kept asking for more. I did use a little less flour than the recipe called for, just so I could be sure and keep them from crumbling. Like someone else mentioned, you can fit them all on one cookie sheet since they don't spread. Easy to make and delicious- I will be making them again at Christmas time for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
My husband loves these cookies and they came out great. They will be added to my Christmas cookie tray! Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen McCleane Mullin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
I had 'this' recipe before, but lost it. so, I was very happy to find it here. I roll the cookies in confectioners sugar once a few minutes after removing from the oven, then a second time after they have cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katysue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
These are really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States