Walnut Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
They are lightly sweetened, and melt in your mouth. I did follow another reviewer's suggestion to grind the walnuts and increase the butter. Added too much butter, but evened it out by adding more flour. Worked perfectly. My end result was 33 balls. I am definitely adding this to my annual Christmas baking list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I LOVE this recipe. It is so easy and quick! I didn't do the walnuts though. I substituted almonds for walnuts and almond extract for the vanilla. SO delicious! I also only cooked them for 12 minutes, they were less dry than the whole 15 minutes. I finally managed to match the old almond ball recipe that I had been looking for!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Defiance, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
these are delicous. they werent sweet enough for me at first so i added about 3 extra tablespoons of sugar. they are so easy and super quick to make. i would defentaly make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
These walnut balls were good, but I will make some slight changes next time. 1) The walnuts should be very, very finely chopped or ground. I will grind. The medium chop I did was not delicate enough for these balls and chunks should not be present. 2) The recipe could use a tablespoon or two more butter. They were too crumbly and became dry after a couple days. Also, don't be fooled by the small amount of sugar called for. When you roll them in sugar, they take on much more sweetness. Stick with the 2 tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
If you like shortbread and nuts, this will do the trick. I think the recipe needed more vanilla (additional tsp) and maybe an egg yolk. It's elegant and well-presented at parties. And sturdy enough to make a good gift. I wouldn't really call it a cookie in the American aspect. Seems to be of British origin. Goes well with coffee and tea. Do NOT substitute butter for margarine. The flavor of the butter and vanilla are essential to the recipe. Overall, good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I think these are very much like Russian tea cakes. These were too crumbly. I have success with the Tea cakes, so I will stick with that recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
These were very fast to make and I didn't have much of a crumbling problem. They taste better after they mature a day or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
these were absolutely delicious! in the last batch of the dough, I mixed in some left over white chocolate chips and they were quite delicious. Dont think about making it, make it ...they're simple and yummy :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
Thank you so much for the recipe, you made my dad's christmas for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
My husband loves these cookies and they came out great. They will be added to my Christmas cookie tray! Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen McCleane Mullin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States