Walnut Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
My boyfriend and I loved these! Only rated 4 stars because I had to modify the recipe slightly. When creaming the butter and sugar, I recommend using a food processor and adding the walnuts to it and pulverizing them into the butter+sugar. Then add remaining ingredients using food processor to finish combining dough. Roll in SF sugar once before baking and once within 3 minutes of taking out of the oven. I found the amount of butter to be perfect. Bonus: if you don't have SF sugar but have a food processor, just put regular granulated sugar in the processor for 2 minutes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McKayvozMachina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Absolutely delicious!!! You just have to bake them a few minutes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
same as walnut torte, very dry but they melt in your mouth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
This were great. They are very crumblely, but defenitely good. I did add an extra 2 Tbs of butter because my dough was not holding at all and I did not roll them in sugar, per the end of the recipe. My kids loved them. I was going to send them to Afghan for a care package and by the time I turned around most of them were gone. It might have been because of the extra butter, but my cookies were a little flat at the bottom after cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calexico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
My husband ate them all and was looking for more! I didn't have superfine sugar, so I rolled them in confectioner's sugar. I used my pampered chef medium scoop to shape the balls. We loved the look and taste. I will double or even triple the recipe next time as they did not make nearly enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
My aunt has been making these every Christmas since I was young. I love these and am making them now with my own girls. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Definitely a tasty pastry...I made sure to finely chop the walnuts prior to adding them to the flour, I also added an extra tsp. of vanilla. Next time I will make the balls much smaller, the recipe allowed for me to make about a dozen and a half of balls. When the rounds are too large they bake flat on one size. I am definitely going to make smaller rounds next time. I added half of an egg white to the dough and sprinkled confectioners sugar after baking. Will definitely make these again with a tad more perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marabean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson Heights, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
These were excellent. My daughter, who usually eats like a bird, kept asking for more. I did use a little less flour than the recipe called for, just so I could be sure and keep them from crumbling. Like someone else mentioned, you can fit them all on one cookie sheet since they don't spread. Easy to make and delicious- I will be making them again at Christmas time for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
soooo good. kinda taste like pecan sandies but with walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Excellent cookie, but if you are making and don't have super fine sugar you can use powdered sugar to roll cookies. Most recipes use powdered. This is a dry cookie kind of like shortbread so it's packed with tons of flavor and always a favorite for anyone eating for the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States