Wally's Rib Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I used it on a pork butt, and the grandkids were eating 4-5 sandwiches each. Good BBQ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R.Hicks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I'm not sure what this rub is lacking, but my ribs were missing something. I might toy with it and try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I thought this spice mixture was amazing. I didn't rub the ribs and let them sit overnight and will do that next time. I rubbed the ribs, wrapped them in foil and backed them at 200 for four hours and then put them on the grill and slathered them with bbq sauce. The ribs were tender and oh-so flavorful. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Sorry, but this was way too salty...I will try again, but will reduce the salt way down. Otherwise, I think it would be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I originally thought there was too much sugar, but the ribs came out great! I will make a double recipe next time to keep on hand in an air tight container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisheee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Good basic recipe. I changed a few things - added more garlic powder & used part chipolte chili powder. Also threw in a little onion powder. Let it marinate overnight and then baked them at 300 for 3 hours, then finished them off on the grill. They were very tender and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAYLA207

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Very good rub. I found it tasted a bit too sweet when I was `checking`it, but once on the meat I did not find the sweetness overpowering at all. I put the rub on the ribs the night before, then baked them on low int he over for 2 hours. Transferred to grill for 5 min a side and they were falling off the bone! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
AWESOME!!! I did cut the paprika and salt down to 1/8c each, just seemed too much to me. And I did 3/4c brown and 1/4c white sugar. Rubbed on flank steak 20 mins before grilling last night and it was sooo good. Prepped ribs by peeling membrane, rubbed with 1/4c apple cider vinegar and 1ts liquid smoke... This really tenderizes the ribs. Then, rubbed GENEROUSLY with Wally's Rib Rub, double wrapped in foil, in frige overnight. Cooked according to AR's Scott Hibb's Amazing Whisky Grilled Baby Back Ribs from this point on. BEST RIBS I'VE EVER HAD IN MY ENTIRE LIFE!!! I'm gonna repeat the process exactly tonight with a pork loin for tomorrow's Sunday family dinner... I have no doubt it too will be extraordinary =) ***UPDATE: Pork loin came out GREAT! Did everything exactly the same (Wally's Rub, then Scott Hibb's sauce and method). Gonna do it again tonight with chicken breast. That makes 4 nights in a row we've used this rub! Steak, Ribs, Pork Loin, and now Chicken... Maybe Salmon tomorrow...? =) P.S. ONE batch has sustained us all of these meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Used on pork ribs that we smoked and they were delicious! Not too spicy and not too sweet. Great combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YUMMM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
really good- but too salty!! will reduce next time and then it will be 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Paprika

See the many types and uses of paprika.

Chef John's Dijon Mustard

See how to make homemade Dijon-style mustard.

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States