Wally's Rib Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Oh Yeah!!! This rub is incredible!! You don't even need sauce afterward. Try in on your roast in the crockpot, or your stew meat before adding it to your stew, chicken, almost anything really.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Very good. Also works well on burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Good rub, although I did prepare the ribs a little differently. Rubbed the ribs with the spice mixture, put them on top of sliced onions on a large baking sheet, poured about a half can of beer on them, covered tightly with foil, and baked for 1-1/2 hours in a 350 degrees F oven. Then finished them off on the grill, basted with BBQ sauce, until they were crisped up, about 15 minutes, and served with extra BBQ sauce. Baking the ribs first cooked off the fat, and the ribs were succulent and flavorful. I cut back on the salt and cayenne, and will be using this rub in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Love, love, love this rub! I am rating it 5 stars because it is JUST that good; however, I did have to make a minor change. When I made the 1st batch exactly by the recipe, it was WAYYYYYYYYY to salty, so I made another batch without salt at all, combined the two batches and it was DELICIOUS (not to mention I now have enough rub to last for a long time!). So I highly recommend cutting the salt by half. You can always add more if it is not enough for your liking. After tasting these, most people I cook them for don't even bother with the BBQ sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I cut the recipe in half and, even with seasoning liberally, I still have quite a lot of the rub left. I haven't cooked the ribs yet, but I tasted the rub to check the seasoning level and it tasted great. I switched the white sugar measurements with the brown sugar measurements, increased the garlic powder to about 1 1/2 tbsp, and added a small pinch of crushed red chili pepper because I didn't have cayenne pepper in stock. I also used smoked paprika instead of the sweet. I will update once I cook the ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Loved the flavors in this rub! My nine year old was in charge of rubbing down the ribs and he couldn't be prouder with these flavors shining through! Must try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JillyBean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaford, Delaware, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Delicious! I didn't have the time to let it sit overnight, I just prepped it & baked it. Can't wait to try again when I do have time to let it sit. I did however use just 1 cup of sugar instead of 1 3/4 & I used 1/4 cup of salt instead of 1/2. Even my picky 9 year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I've been on a quest for a good rib rub this summer. So far this one is the best. I rubbed it in to my ribs and then smoked them for 5 hours at 250. I pulled back on the sugar just a bit and added a little more brown sugar. I'll probably add more spices next go round. I prefer just a little more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niget2002
Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Buckeyewalt, Thanks for a wonderful rub. Used it on 8 racks of Baby Backs (tripled the amounts of course) and everyone was happy. Great recipe! Definitely will be using again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mg5555

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Ridge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Put rub on the night before so the spices soak into the meat and refrigerate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nmschalk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

All about Paprika

See the many types and uses of paprika.

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States