Waldorf Salad with Walnut Oil Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I made this recipe twice. Each time I halved the recipe, using only 2 apples. I thought this was more than enough for two people. The first time I followed the recipe. I liked it but agree with an earlier reviewer that it was a little bland. The second time I used Honey Crisp and Granny Smith apples, cranberries instead of raisins and I used a white balsamic vinegar for the dressing. I liked it better with the changes. It is a nice change from a mayo based Waldorf Salad. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
A friend of mine came into town and prepared this for me. I fell in love with it.She left and I failed to get the recipe so I typed in on Google apple salad with walnut oil and was able to find this. This dish is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
crisp and light-- filling but not something that will make you feel unpleasantly stuffed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I GIVE THIS 5 STARS!The very best walnut salad I have ever had. Will never go back to the heavy salads. LIGHT AND REFRESHING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Really good - quick and easy. I didn't have apple cider vinegar but I did have spiced cranberry cider that with a touch of regular vinegar worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loves2Cook
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I subbed a few things (dried cranberry for raisins, etc). But the star of this recipe is the vinaigrette, and I made that as written. This salad is light and simple, and I think it would go well with most meats. Great autumn recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I've never had a Waldorf salad, but this seemed and ideal way to try it as my bf doesn't care too much for mayo-based salads. I subbed Gala apples for the Red Delicious, only used half cup of toasted walnuts (that's all I had on hand) and added two pinches of a homemade pumpkin/apple pie spice blend to the dressing. I had sweet almond oil on hand so I used that instead. This was delicious; I would definitely make it again and try it with grapes as many other reviewers have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
much better than I expected :) I could not find walnut oil and used sunflower oil. Also, I added seedless red grapes. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I've been making this for some time now and it is one of my family's favorites. I use dried cranberries instead of raisins and Rome/Empire apples for Red Delicious, b/c I think Rome Apples taste better. Sometimes for a variation I add a small can of mandarin oranges for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NTexas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Tried this for the first time, today, for Thanksgiving dinner. It was really good. Nice and light compared to the rest of dinner. ;) Added a cup of chopped grapes too. Will definitely make again. Thanks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Harvest Salad

A yummy salad to enjoy all year round.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States