Waldorf Salad with Walnut Oil Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
A friend of mine came into town and prepared this for me. I fell in love with it.She left and I failed to get the recipe so I typed in on Google apple salad with walnut oil and was able to find this. This dish is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
crisp and light- filling but not something that will make you feel gross
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I GIVE THIS 5 STARS!The very best walnut salad I have ever had. Will never go back to the heavy salads. LIGHT AND REFRESHING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Really good - quick and easy. I didn't have apple cider vinegar but I did have spiced cranberry cider that with a touch of regular vinegar worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loves2Cook
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I subbed a few things (dried cranberry for raisins, etc). But the star of this recipe is the vinaigrette, and I made that as written. This salad is light and simple, and I think it would go well with most meats. Great autumn recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I've never had a Waldorf salad, but this seemed and ideal way to try it as my bf doesn't care too much for mayo-based salads. I subbed Gala apples for the Red Delicious, only used half cup of toasted walnuts (that's all I had on hand) and added two pinches of a homemade pumpkin/apple pie spice blend to the dressing. I had sweet almond oil on hand so I used that instead. This was delicious; I would definitely make it again and try it with grapes as many other reviewers have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
much better than I expected :) I could not find walnut oil and used sunflower oil. Also, I added seedless red grapes. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I've been making this for some time now and it is one of my family's favorites. I use dried cranberries instead of raisins and Rome/Empire apples for Red Delicious, b/c I think Rome Apples taste better. Sometimes for a variation I add a small can of mandarin oranges for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NTexas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Tried this for the first time, today, for Thanksgiving dinner. It was really good. Nice and light compared to the rest of dinner. ;) Added a cup of chopped grapes too. Will definitely make again. Thanks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
It's wonderfully crunchy O.K. (especially since I used honey crisp apples) but nigh on to tasteless. It's back to a mixture of reduced fat mayo and sour cream for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States