Waldorf Salad with Walnut Oil Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
A friend of mine came into town and prepared this for me. I fell in love with it.She left and I failed to get the recipe so I typed in on Google apple salad with walnut oil and was able to find this. This dish is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
crisp and light- filling but not something that will make you feel gross
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I GIVE THIS 5 STARS!The very best walnut salad I have ever had. Will never go back to the heavy salads. LIGHT AND REFRESHING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Really good - quick and easy. I didn't have apple cider vinegar but I did have spiced cranberry cider that with a touch of regular vinegar worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loves2Cook
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I subbed a few things (dried cranberry for raisins, etc). But the star of this recipe is the vinaigrette, and I made that as written. This salad is light and simple, and I think it would go well with most meats. Great autumn recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I've never had a Waldorf salad, but this seemed and ideal way to try it as my bf doesn't care too much for mayo-based salads. I subbed Gala apples for the Red Delicious, only used half cup of toasted walnuts (that's all I had on hand) and added two pinches of a homemade pumpkin/apple pie spice blend to the dressing. I had sweet almond oil on hand so I used that instead. This was delicious; I would definitely make it again and try it with grapes as many other reviewers have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
much better than I expected :) I could not find walnut oil and used sunflower oil. Also, I added seedless red grapes. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I've been making this for some time now and it is one of my family's favorites. I use dried cranberries instead of raisins and Rome/Empire apples for Red Delicious, b/c I think Rome Apples taste better. Sometimes for a variation I add a small can of mandarin oranges for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NTexas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Tried this for the first time, today, for Thanksgiving dinner. It was really good. Nice and light compared to the rest of dinner. ;) Added a cup of chopped grapes too. Will definitely make again. Thanks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
It's wonderfully crunchy O.K. (especially since I used honey crisp apples) but nigh on to tasteless. It's back to a mixture of reduced fat mayo and sour cream for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States