Waldorf Salad with Walnut Oil Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
As someone who hates mayo but whose husband LOVES Waldorf, this was a real find. I have served it many times with great success. It's wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Made with what was on hand: still excellent with Golden Delicious and no celery, substituting dried cranberries for raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This sounded good and did not disappoint. A refreshing counterpoint to the usual gloppy, calorie-laden version. SunMaid has a product that is a trio of different raisins, and it was nice to have the variety. I only had Gala Apples and it still had a good flavor. Love the crunch! This will be a must for the holidays as it's a departure from heavyhanded side dishes. Also, great to serve for vegetarians or vegans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I've made this recipe about 3 times this holiday season. My family loved it! It's especially good for following a healthy dietary plan. I substituted dried cranberries for the raisins and used Jonagold apples instead of Red Delicious. I used a good quality gourmet walnut oil. I will keep this one forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Great side dish--easy and yummy. I reduced the recipe to feed 3, 3 apples, 1 celery stalk, 1/4 c raisin and 1/4 c walnuts. I didn't have walnut oil, instead used 1 tbsp Canola oil and 1/2 tbsp Red Wine Vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Perfect healthier alternative to the classic. Light, crisp and flavorful. I replaced one of each apple with a red and yellow pear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
very good! left out raisins, used lemon olive oil instead of walnut oil and cider vinegar. Nice light lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was the perfect addition to the meal. It was a very light salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
wonderful. as good and as different as i thought it would be. i made it for thanksgiving (totally untried before) and was not disappointed. My in-laws and their boys even liked it. and they usually pretty tame palates. I increased the serving to 8 people and it was more than enough. I DID however add a few handfuls of grapes halved, dried cranberries and a mix of golden and regular raisins. Toasting the walnuts is a MUST. for that matter toasting all your nuts for about anything you make will be like adding a little sugar, oil, and water to flour to make bread, as opposed to just swallowing a handful of flour. it makes a BIG difference (for most things) You should try this recipe, don't forget the pepper, yes pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKTERT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kodiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
WOW!! I wanted a fruity, crunchy side to have with my supper tonight and I'm so glad I found this recipe because it was exactly what I wanted. I scaled the recipe down to 1 serving and it still made a ton (about enough for 3 small servings). I used just royal gala apple and I was out of raisins so I used dried apricots and dried apples instead. I thought at first that there wasn't enough dressing but it's pretty tangy a little goes a long way. Thank you!!! This is my new favorite recipe!!! I think next time I'll add some feta cheese...yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 400luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States