Waldorf Salad with Walnut Oil Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
This was surprisingly good despite my initial skepticism. A good quality walnut oil is a must. Don't substitute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Oh, man! This is delicious. I tried it tonight to prepare for tomorrow's Thanksgiving meal and I ate the whole test batch. I used Gala apples in place of the Red Delicious and dried cranberries in place of the raisins. It is a perfect salad for a holiday meal. I can't wait to serve it to my guests tomorrow. The walnut oil really makes it special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
A nice crunchy side dish and great alternative to a mayo-based salad. I served this for a casual mid-September cook-out of hamburgers and hotdogs. Those that tried it really liked it. I used a medley of granny smith, braeburn, red delicious, and gala. I also used half dark raisins and half golden raisins. The best part for me is the toasted walnuts and walnut vinaigrette. AND, the salad stays good and crunchy as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Made with what was on hand: still excellent with Golden Delicious and no celery, substituting dried cranberries for raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This sounded good and did not disappoint. A refreshing counterpoint to the usual gloppy, calorie-laden version. SunMaid has a product that is a trio of different raisins, and it was nice to have the variety. I only had Gala Apples and it still had a good flavor. Love the crunch! This will be a must for the holidays as it's a departure from heavyhanded side dishes. Also, great to serve for vegetarians or vegans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I've made this recipe about 3 times this holiday season. My family loved it! It's especially good for following a healthy dietary plan. I substituted dried cranberries for the raisins and used Jonagold apples instead of Red Delicious. I used a good quality gourmet walnut oil. I will keep this one forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Great side dish--easy and yummy. I reduced the recipe to feed 3, 3 apples, 1 celery stalk, 1/4 c raisin and 1/4 c walnuts. I didn't have walnut oil, instead used 1 tbsp Canola oil and 1/2 tbsp Red Wine Vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Made this for Easter dinner and really enjoyed it. I substituited grapes for the raisins. I think it would be a great lunch salad with some tangy goat cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Perfect healthier alternative to the classic. Light, crisp and flavorful. I replaced one of each apple with a red and yellow pear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
very good! left out raisins, used lemon olive oil instead of walnut oil and cider vinegar. Nice light lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States