Waldorf Salad with Walnut Oil Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Tried this for the first time, today, for Thanksgiving dinner. It was really good. Nice and light compared to the rest of dinner. ;) Added a cup of chopped grapes too. Will definitely make again. Thanks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
It's wonderfully crunchy O.K. (especially since I used honey crisp apples) but nigh on to tasteless. It's back to a mixture of reduced fat mayo and sour cream for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
This is light and fabulous as is! I don't like mayo, so always enjoy alternate ways to make recipes without it! Even if you like mayo, there is no need to change a thing about this recipe! I agree it is important to use good walnut oil and good cider vinegar to ensure the flavor is superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
I liked the walnut oil option, as I don't like the visual of mayonaise in my arteries. It did make the salad more refreshing, less heavy. What a great way to get your fiber! I actually used candied walnuts because that was all I could find. Turned out great anyhow! I also added really firm, seedless, green grapes, which added a nice texture, and color. The celery is AWESOME, because it really does give it a nice little crunch! I ate so much of this stuff. I finished it all by myself in two days, haha. But it's pretty good for you, and goes well with a nice chicken dish =) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
WOW!! I wanted a fruity, crunchy side to have with my supper tonight and I'm so glad I found this recipe because it was exactly what I wanted. I scaled the recipe down to 1 serving and it still made a ton (about enough for 3 small servings). I used just royal gala apple and I was out of raisins so I used dried apricots and dried apples instead. I thought at first that there wasn't enough dressing but it's pretty tangy a little goes a long way. Thank you!!! This is my new favorite recipe!!! I think next time I'll add some feta cheese...yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 400luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
wonderful. as good and as different as i thought it would be. i made it for thanksgiving (totally untried before) and was not disappointed. My in-laws and their boys even liked it. and they usually pretty tame palates. I increased the serving to 8 people and it was more than enough. I DID however add a few handfuls of grapes halved, dried cranberries and a mix of golden and regular raisins. Toasting the walnuts is a MUST. for that matter toasting all your nuts for about anything you make will be like adding a little sugar, oil, and water to flour to make bread, as opposed to just swallowing a handful of flour. it makes a BIG difference (for most things) You should try this recipe, don't forget the pepper, yes pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKTERT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kodiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
As someone who hates mayo but whose husband LOVES Waldorf, this was a real find. I have served it many times with great success. It's wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was the perfect addition to the meal. It was a very light salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Morgan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
very good! left out raisins, used lemon olive oil instead of walnut oil and cider vinegar. Nice light lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Perfect healthier alternative to the classic. Light, crisp and flavorful. I replaced one of each apple with a red and yellow pear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Harvest Salad

A yummy salad to enjoy all year round.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States