Waldorf Salad with Walnut Oil Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Tried this for the first time, today, for Thanksgiving dinner. It was really good. Nice and light compared to the rest of dinner. ;) Added a cup of chopped grapes too. Will definitely make again. Thanks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
It's wonderfully crunchy O.K. (especially since I used honey crisp apples) but nigh on to tasteless. It's back to a mixture of reduced fat mayo and sour cream for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
This is light and fabulous as is! I don't like mayo, so always enjoy alternate ways to make recipes without it! Even if you like mayo, there is no need to change a thing about this recipe! I agree it is important to use good walnut oil and good cider vinegar to ensure the flavor is superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
I liked the walnut oil option, as I don't like the visual of mayonaise in my arteries. It did make the salad more refreshing, less heavy. What a great way to get your fiber! I actually used candied walnuts because that was all I could find. Turned out great anyhow! I also added really firm, seedless, green grapes, which added a nice texture, and color. The celery is AWESOME, because it really does give it a nice little crunch! I ate so much of this stuff. I finished it all by myself in two days, haha. But it's pretty good for you, and goes well with a nice chicken dish =) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
WOW!! I wanted a fruity, crunchy side to have with my supper tonight and I'm so glad I found this recipe because it was exactly what I wanted. I scaled the recipe down to 1 serving and it still made a ton (about enough for 3 small servings). I used just royal gala apple and I was out of raisins so I used dried apricots and dried apples instead. I thought at first that there wasn't enough dressing but it's pretty tangy a little goes a long way. Thank you!!! This is my new favorite recipe!!! I think next time I'll add some feta cheese...yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 400luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
wonderful. as good and as different as i thought it would be. i made it for thanksgiving (totally untried before) and was not disappointed. My in-laws and their boys even liked it. and they usually pretty tame palates. I increased the serving to 8 people and it was more than enough. I DID however add a few handfuls of grapes halved, dried cranberries and a mix of golden and regular raisins. Toasting the walnuts is a MUST. for that matter toasting all your nuts for about anything you make will be like adding a little sugar, oil, and water to flour to make bread, as opposed to just swallowing a handful of flour. it makes a BIG difference (for most things) You should try this recipe, don't forget the pepper, yes pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKTERT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kodiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
As someone who hates mayo but whose husband LOVES Waldorf, this was a real find. I have served it many times with great success. It's wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was the perfect addition to the meal. It was a very light salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Morgan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
very good! left out raisins, used lemon olive oil instead of walnut oil and cider vinegar. Nice light lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Perfect healthier alternative to the classic. Light, crisp and flavorful. I replaced one of each apple with a red and yellow pear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Harvest Salad

A yummy salad to enjoy all year round.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States