Waldorf Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2001
This was a great recipe. I added just a touch of powdered sugar because we like our a little sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
This is another great one! Extra surprises of raisons and grapes are extras.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I can't begin to tell you how many recipes for waldorf salad I tried from this site and elsewhere before my husband finally said that "the sauce" was exactly right. I have to agree that this is by far the best recipe for waldorf salad. I think what makes it so good is the heavy cream and the nutmeg. When I made it, I used red delicious apples (because they are my motherinlaw's favorite apple), but I think it would be good with a less sweet apple, like a jonathan or macintosh, too. I used red, seedless grapes. My motherinlaw, who is 93, said it tastes like the waldorf salad that she made. At her age, I think she knows what traditional waldorf salad should be like, and this is it! Use fresh lemons, because that keeps your apples from browning as well as giving a little zip. I always prefer fresh lemon juice over concentrate. Thank you, June, sharing the perfect Waldorf salad recipe. My search is FINALLY over! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithsburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Very good. I added some sugar to the whipped cream and omitted the grapes. I used Gala apples and pecans instead of walnuts. If the salad is put together quickly, there is no need for the lemon juice at all. Everyone enjoyed this. Good addition to the Thanksgiving menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jana
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Very easy recipe! I used craisins instead of raisins (what I had on hand) and lemon juice just to coate the apples. I also doulbled the recipe and it turned our great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I like to add dried cranberries and dried blueberries I omitted grapes. Healthier, yummier and more colorful for a great 4th of July salad. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2000
This was my first time making a Waldorf Salad. This recipe was simple and easy to follow. It tasted great, with all the different tastes hitting your tongue at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
I may have made a miscalculation when I increased this recipe, but it seemed like there was far too much dressing for the amount of fruit/veg/nuts. I would definitely make it again - it just needs a bit of tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Initially this recipe turned out too tart. First,I think I should of used sweeter apples. I cut down the amount of lemon juice and added honey to sweeten it up. I did not have enough raisins for the recipe and I think it I had the right amount that would have made it sweeter as well. The day after Thanksgiving I added leftover turkey and it made a wonderful turkey waldorf salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Harvest Salad

A yummy salad to enjoy all year round.

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States