Waldorf Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2001
This was a great recipe. I added just a touch of powdered sugar because we like our a little sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
I may have made a miscalculation when I increased this recipe, but it seemed like there was far too much dressing for the amount of fruit/veg/nuts. I would definitely make it again - it just needs a bit of tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
I made this this past thanksgiving and my family loved it. It could have used a bit more cream and some sugar but was very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2000
This was my first time making a Waldorf Salad. This recipe was simple and easy to follow. It tasted great, with all the different tastes hitting your tongue at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I can't begin to tell you how many recipes for waldorf salad I tried from this site and elsewhere before my husband finally said that "the sauce" was exactly right. I have to agree that this is by far the best recipe for waldorf salad. I think what makes it so good is the heavy cream and the nutmeg. When I made it, I used red delicious apples (because they are my motherinlaw's favorite apple), but I think it would be good with a less sweet apple, like a jonathan or macintosh, too. I used red, seedless grapes. My motherinlaw, who is 93, said it tastes like the waldorf salad that she made. At her age, I think she knows what traditional waldorf salad should be like, and this is it! Use fresh lemons, because that keeps your apples from browning as well as giving a little zip. I always prefer fresh lemon juice over concentrate. Thank you, June, sharing the perfect Waldorf salad recipe. My search is FINALLY over! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithsburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Initially this recipe turned out too tart. First,I think I should of used sweeter apples. I cut down the amount of lemon juice and added honey to sweeten it up. I did not have enough raisins for the recipe and I think it I had the right amount that would have made it sweeter as well. The day after Thanksgiving I added leftover turkey and it made a wonderful turkey waldorf salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I love waldorf salad, but not this version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
A little too tart from the lemon juice and I added some coconut to it. Later, I read the reviews and noticed that some people had added sugar to sweeten it. Will have to try it again with the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
This is another great one! Extra surprises of raisons and grapes are extras.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States