Waldorf Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
It reminded me of my youth when mom made this salad; however, the mayonnaise flavor was intense and I made again substituting 1 cup Greek Yogurt and 1 to 2 tbsp Rice Vinegar for the mayo also used dried cranberries as an alternate to raisins . Kids liked better, but the celery is the next challenge. Sigh, I will probably have to fall back to a fruit salad. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I make this salad for family gatherings and it is always a hit. I make the recipe as is except I don't peel the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Delightful! I used almonds instead of walnuts and added poppy seeds to the dressing. Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
My Grandmother challenged me this Thanksgiving to make something I've never heard of before. When I asked her what a Waldorf Salad was, she said she knew I could figure it out, and it would be wonderful. So thank you for making a recipe that was exactly what she expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
One of my favorite salad recipes! Dressing is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANEA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Park, Georgia, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Photo by rachelkelseysawyer
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I've never even eaten this salad before! It was an easy way to use leftover apples for a Thanksgiving potluck party I was going to. My friends RAVED about how good it was! Also, I'm in Russia with limited resources so it was a quick fix and appealed to the taste buds of Americans and Russians alike :). Simple! Delicious! **I should also mention that I "doubled" the recipe, but ended up only using 4.5 apples because I felt that it would be too dry with any more. I also used 1/2 red delicious and 1/2 granny smith (the mixed apples added flavor!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Not bad. This Thanksgiving, I wanted to try something new in place of my usual taffy apple salad. This fit the bill perfectly. I do feel this needs a bit more sweetness, but that's just my opinion. Other than subbing dried cranberries (i.e. Craisins) for raisins and not peeling my apples (personal preference), I made no real changes. For a bit of variety, I used both Red Delicious and Granny Smith apples. I'm looking forward to adding leftover turkey to this so that I can have turkey salad sandwiches for lunch all week long! Thanks for sharing Penny! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Delicious! A perfect side to almost any meal I think. I tried making it once with cheaper apples and wasn't so keen - better apples make this amazing. Honeycrisp are my current faves. It's great made a day ahead too; flavors marry and apples look just as fresh as day of. A few adjustments I make for my own tastes: I prefer it less sweet so take down the sugar to about 1/2 tbsp; I like pecans over walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
just one word i can say about this delicious recipe; YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This is the best kind of recipe- very easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Black Lemon Chicken Salad

Here’s a simple roast chicken dish that’s bursting with flavor.

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States