Waldorf Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
There is no need for salt, lemon juice, or sugar. Cut up the apples last and immediately mix the mayonnaise in. It will do the same thing the lemon juice does (keep the apples from browning). The salt and sugar just baffle me entirely. Walnuts and apples provide plenty of sweetness. It's your standard basic Waldorf Salad recipe. Easy, delicious, nutritious ... even tastier if you add cooked chicken to it. Grapes and/or raisins are another variation, but I don't often use them. Good variations would be using plain yogurt instead of mayo. Slightly different flavor (a little sweeter, for those that want that) and lower fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Loved it! Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TashiLynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
This was fantastic. I added 3/4 C of sour cream and one more. Boy was it tasty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Easy recipe, easy to modify. Pecans instead of walnuts? Cranberries instead of raisins? Low-fat mayo instead of regular? Etc, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
This is a lovely refreshing salad! It is such an enjoyable first course. My husband thought it strange to have an apple salad but now he's a convert... I used Jonagold apples which is a lovely crisp but mellow tasting variety. The dressing was perfect. Celery, raisins and walnuts complement it very well. Thanks for such a delicious recipe! The only thing I did differently was to leave the apple skins on. Why peel off the most attractive part?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Good traditional recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I made this as a side dish for Easter. quadrupled the recipe. It was very good, a light side compared to the other heavy dishes. I did not put raisins in mine, it was absolutely delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I made this exactly as stated and really enjoyed it. The idea of the mayonnaise base was a wee bit off putting. At the first bite the overwhelming smell of mayo made me cringe, but after the first bite I was very well pleased. Next time I make this I will make a few additions. I will toast the walnuts briefly, add some cuties (tangelos) and add a dash of salt. I think the addition of some citrus will really perk this up and give it a more complex flavor. However, this is a great starter recipe and is very good on its own. Thanks Penny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Doubled the recipe for a party. It turned out wonderful. I didn't have any walnuts so I used choped pecans instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pennsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Black Lemon Chicken Salad

Here’s a simple roast chicken dish that’s bursting with flavor.

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States