Waldorf Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Rachel Sawyer
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I've never even eaten this salad before! It was an easy way to use leftover apples for a Thanksgiving potluck party I was going to. My friends RAVED about how good it was! Also, I'm in Russia with limited resources so it was a quick fix and appealed to the taste buds of Americans and Russians alike :). Simple! Delicious! **I should also mention that I "doubled" the recipe, but ended up only using 4.5 apples because I felt that it would be too dry with any more. I also used 1/2 red delicious and 1/2 granny smith (the mixed apples added flavor!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Not bad. This Thanksgiving, I wanted to try something new in place of my usual taffy apple salad. This fit the bill perfectly. I do feel this needs a bit more sweetness, but that's just my opinion. Other than subbing dried cranberries (i.e. Craisins) for raisins and not peeling my apples (personal preference), I made no real changes. For a bit of variety, I used both Red Delicious and Granny Smith apples. I'm looking forward to adding leftover turkey to this so that I can have turkey salad sandwiches for lunch all week long! Thanks for sharing Penny! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Delicious! A perfect side to almost any meal I think. I tried making it once with cheaper apples and wasn't so keen - better apples make this amazing. Honeycrisp are my current faves. It's great made a day ahead too; flavors marry and apples look just as fresh as day of. A few adjustments I make for my own tastes: I prefer it less sweet so take down the sugar to about 1/2 tbsp; I like pecans over walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
just one word i can say about this delicious recipe; YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This is the best kind of recipe- very easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
There is no need for salt, lemon juice, or sugar. Cut up the apples last and immediately mix the mayonnaise in. It will do the same thing the lemon juice does (keep the apples from browning). The salt and sugar just baffle me entirely. Walnuts and apples provide plenty of sweetness. It's your standard basic Waldorf Salad recipe. Easy, delicious, nutritious ... even tastier if you add cooked chicken to it. Grapes and/or raisins are another variation, but I don't often use them. Good variations would be using plain yogurt instead of mayo. Slightly different flavor (a little sweeter, for those that want that) and lower fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Loved it! Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TashiLynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
This was fantastic. I added 3/4 C of sour cream and one more. Boy was it tasty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Easy recipe, easy to modify. Pecans instead of walnuts? Cranberries instead of raisins? Low-fat mayo instead of regular? Etc, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Newton

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States